Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Janowski: Wagner – Siegfried (24/96 FLAC)

Janowski: Wagner – Siegfried (24/96 FLAC)

Janowski: Wagner - Siegfried (24/96 FLAC)
Janowski: Wagner – Siegfried (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Richard Wagner
Performer: Tomasz Konieczny, Stephen Gould, Violeta Urmana, Anna Larsson, Matti Salminen, Jochen Schmeckenbecher, Christian Elsner, Sophie Klußmann
Orchestra: Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Conductor: Marek Janowski
Number of Discs: 3
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Pentatone
Catalogue: PTC5186408
Release: 2013
Size: 4 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Act I
01. Vorspiel

Act I Scene 1
02. Zwangvolle Plage! Müh’ ohne Zweck! (Mime)
03. Hoiho! Hoiho! Hau’ ein! Hau’ ein! (Siegfried, Mime)
04. Da hast du die Stücken, schändlicher Stümper (Siegfried, Mime)
05. Als zullendes Kind zog ich dich auf (Mime)
06. Vieles lehrtest du, Mime, und manches lernt’ ich von dir (Siegfried, Mime)
07. Einst lag wimmernd ein Weib (Mime, Siegfried)
08. Und diese Stücke sollst du mir schmieden (Siegfried, Mime)
09. Da stürmt er hin! (Mime)

Act I Scene 2
10. Heil dir, weiser Schmied! (Wanderer, Mime)
11. Hier sitz’ ich am Herd (Wanderer, Mime)
12. Was zu wissen dir frommt, solltest du fragen (Wanderer, Mime)
13. Die Stücken! Das Schwert! (Mime, Wanderer)

Act I Scene 3
14. Verfluchtes Licht! (Mime)
15. Heda! Du fauler! (Siegfried)
16. Bist du es, Kind? (Mime, Siegfried)
17. Fühltest du nie im finstren Wald (Mime, Siegfried)
18. Her mit den Stücken, fort mit dem Stümper! (Siegfried, Mime)
19. Notung! Notung! Neidliches Schwert! (Siegfried, Mime)
20. Hoho! Hoho! Hohei! (Siegfried, Mime)

CD 02
Act II
01. Vorspiel

Act II Scene 1
02. In Wald und Nacht vor Neidhohl’ halt’ ich Wacht (Alberich)
03. Zur Neidhohle fuhr ich bei Nacht (Wanderer, Alberich)
04. Mit mir nicht, hadre mit Mime (Wanderer, Alberich)
05. Fafner, Fafner! Erwache, Wurm! (Wanderer, Alberich, Fafner)
06. Nun, Alberich, das schlug fehl (Wanderer, Alberich)

Act II Scene 2
07. Wir sind zur Stelle! Bleib hier stehn! (Mime, Siegfried)
08. Dass der mein Vater nicht ist (Siegfried)
09. Aber, wie sah meine Mutter wohl aus? (Siegfried)
10. Meine Mutter, ein Menschenweib! (Siegfried)
11. Ha ha! Da hatte mein Lied (Siegfried, Fafner)
12. Wer bist du, kühner Knabe (Fafner, Siegfried)
13. Zur Kunde taugt kein Toter (Siegfried, Waldvogel)

Act II Scene 3
14. Wohin schleichst du eilig und schlau (Alberich, Mime)
15. Was ihr mir nutzt, weiß ich nicht (Siegfried, Waldvogel, Mime)
16. Willkommen, Siegfried! (Mime, Siegfried)
17. Da lieg auch du, dunkler Wurm! (Siegfried, Waldvogel)

CD 03
01. Vorspiel

Act III Scene 1
02. Wache, Wala! Wala! Erwach’! (Wanderer)
03. Stark ruft das Lied (Erda, Wanderer)
04. Dir Unweisen ruf’ ich ins Ohr (Wanderer)

Act III Scene 2
05. Dort seh ich Siegfried nahen (Wanderer)
06. Mein Vöglein schwebte mir fort! (Siegfried)
07. Wohin, Knabe, heißt dich dein Weg? (Wanderer, Siegfried)
08. Kenntest du mich, kühner Spross (Wanderer, Siegfried)
09. Mit zerfochtner Waffe floh mir der Feige? (Siegfried)

Act III Scene 3
10. Selige Öde auf sonniger Hoh’! (Siegfried)
11. Das ist kein Mann! (Siegfried)
12. Heil dir, Sonne! Heil dir, Licht! (Brunnhilde, Siegfried)
13. Siegfried! Siegfried! Seliger Held! (Brunnhilde, Siegfried)
14. Dort seh’ ich Grane (Brunnhilde, Siegfried)
15. Ewig war ich, ewig bin ich (Brunnhilde, Siegfried)

This is the ninth release in PentaTone’s successful Wagner Edition and the third release of the cycle: “Der Ring des Nibelungen. The last “Ring recording” (Götterdämmerung) will follow in November 2013. The PentaTone Edition is attracting a lot of (positive) media attention.

It is becoming THE Wagner Edition of the 21st century.

The penultimate music drama in Der Ring des Nibelungen, Siegfried is also the next-to-last release in Marek Janowski’s series of Richard Wagner’s mature operas for PentaTone. Continuing the Ring with the same high standards of musicianship and production exhibited earlier in Das Rheingold and Die Walküre, Janowski delivers an exciting and highly detailed account in this live unstaged performance with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra. Stephen Gould gives a commanding performance as the hero Siegfried, and his strong singing is reminiscent at times of the great heldentenors in this role. Joined by Christian Elsner as Mime, Violeta Urmana as Brünnhilde, Tomasz Konieczny as the Wanderer, and Matti Salminen as Fafner, the cast is solid and cohesive, and their parts are clearly audible, thanks to careful microphone placement. But the real star of this and Janowski’s other Wagner recordings is the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, whose amazing clarity make this a Siegfried for admirers of Wagner’s brilliant orchestral writing. Audiophiles will be thoroughly impressed with the fidelity of the sound on these hybrid multichannel SACDs, and while this rendition has serious competition from the great performances of the past, it’s unbeatable for its close-up presence, vibrant colors, and wide dynamic range. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply