Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Veracini – Overtures & Concerti vol.2 (FLAC)

Veracini – Overtures & Concerti vol.2 (FLAC)

Veracini - Overtures & Concerti vol.2 (FLAC)
Veracini – Overtures & Concerti vol.2 (FLAC)

Composer: Francesco Maria Veracini
Performer: L’Arte dell’Arco, Federico Guglielmo
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: CPO
Catalogue: 555220-2
Release: 2019
Size: 376 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Overture No. 1 in B-Flat Major
01. I. Largo
02. II. Allegro
03. III. Menuet
04. IV. Sarabande. Andante e staccato
05. V. Aire. Allegro

Violin Sonata in G Major, Op. 1 No. 1
06. I. Overtura
07. II. Aria. Affetuoso
08. III. Paesana. Allegro
09. IV. Minuet. Allegro
10. V. Giga. Allegro

Violin Concerto in D Major
11. I. Allegro
12. II. Grave
13. III. Presto

Violin Sonata in C Major, Op. 1 No. 5
14. I. Largo
15. II. Allegro
16. III. Largo
17. IV. Allegro

Overture No. 3 in B-Flat Major
18. I. Largo. Allegro
19. II. Aire. Allegro
20. III. Allegro
21. IV. Sarabande. Largo
22. V. Gigue

Longingly awaited: LArte dellArco now at last has recorded more instrumental works by the composer Francesco Veracini for cpo. The first release met with a unanimously enthusiastic response: »Here everything fits perfectly; here instrumentalists perform with passion; here a very great ensemble is revealed. The team effort is fascinating; here musicians, friends, and kindred spirits are at work. CD of the Month« (Toccata 1/10). The goal of this project is to record Veracinis complete overtures and violin concertos and to combine them with a selection of his most interesting sonatas from the collection without opus number (1716) and his Opus 1 (1721). When these three groups of works are juxtaposed, Veracinis various stylistic characters come into even clearer view. The succinct tutti passages and the virtuosic élan of the violin concertos meet the festive tone of the overtures, which frequently goes over into tones of greater exuberance and greater folk character, while in the sonatas chamber flexibility is articulated in which refinement and contrapuntal erudition find even clearer expression.

Thirteen years ago, Federico Gugliemo and his L’Arte dell’Arco (The Art of the Bow) already payed tribute to the Florence-born violinist and composer Francesco Maria Veracini. In the 17th century, Veracini was considered as the prime violinist of his time, overpassing Corelli, Tartini or Vivaldi. Veracini achieved outstanding success in London as a violinist for the Queen’s Theatre. He lived in Dresden where, challenged by rival musicians, he jumped out of a window. Arrived lame in Prague where he stayed for a short period, he then moved back to London. But on its way to Britain, Veracini‘s ship sank in the middle of the Channel. The composer was saved and fled to Florence, where he lived a safer life writing sacred music and working as kapellmeister.

Conducted by Federico Gugliemo and recorded in 2018 in the dry acoustic of Este’s Cabinet de lecture (library), the album includes series of openings, (suites), sonatas, and a Violin Concerto in D major performed by Gugliemo.

Leave a Reply