Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Chaconne » The Unknown Purcell: Sonatas by Daniel Purcell (24/96 FLAC)

The Unknown Purcell: Sonatas by Daniel Purcell (24/96 FLAC)

The Unknown Purcell: Sonatas by Daniel Purcell (24/96 FLAC)
The Unknown Purcell: Sonatas by Daniel Purcell (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Daniel Purcell
Performer: Hazel Brooks, David Pollock
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Catalogue: CHAN0795
Release: 2013
Size: 1.04 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Toccata in A minor
02. The Unhappy Penitent: Chaconne in A minor (version for violin and harpsichord)

Violin Solo in D major
03. I. Adagio
04. II. Largo
05. III. Allegro
06. IV. Adagio
07. V. Giga

Violin Solo in B minor
08. I. Vivace
09. II. Largo
10. III. Allegro
11. IV. Adagio
12. V. Allegro

Violin Solo in A major
13. I. Vivace
14. II. Largo
15. III. Adagio
16. IV. Allegro

A Collection of Lessons and Aires: Suite in D minor – major
17. I. Allemand
18. II. Gavott
19. III. Hornpipe
20. IV. March
21. V. Aire
22. VI. Minuet

Violin Sonata in A major
23. I. [Largo]
24. II. Allegro
25. III. Adagio
26. IV. [Allegro]
27. V. Largo

Violin Sonata in B minor
28. I. [Adagio]
29. II. Vivace
30. III. Largo
31. IV. Allegro

Violin Sonata in D major
32. I. [Adagio]
33. II. Largo
34. III. Allegro
35. IV. Grave
36. V. [Allegro]

37. Rondo in B flat major
38. The Island Princess: Lovely charmer (version for harpsichord)
39. Love’s Last Shift: What ungrateful devil moves you (version for harpsichord)
40. Alass when charming Sylvia’s gon (version for harpsichord)

Violin Sonata in D major
41. I. Poco largo
42. II. Vivace
43 .III. Grave
44. IV. Allegro

Violin Sonata in A major
45. I. Adagio
46. II. Allegro
47. III. Largo
48. IV. Grave
49. V. Allegro

Violin Sonata in F minor
50. I. Adagio
51. II. Allegro
52. III. Adagio
53. IV. Allegro

On this recording we have a selection of works for solo harpsichord and for violin and continuo by Daniel Purcell, most of which are premiere recordings. Traditionally, Daniel Purcell has been known primarily as the younger brother of Henry Purcell (though a strong argument can be made that they were cousins), and it has been said that it was from this family connection only that he derived ‘what little reputation which as a musician he possessed’ (Sir John Hawkins). It is not true, however, that Daniel’s legacy was based entirely on the fame of Henry. Daniel lived for over twenty years after Henry’s death in 1695, adopting styles and forms that only became popular in England around 1700, including the da capo aria, the Italianate cantata and – most relevant to this recording – the solo sonata.

Nearly all of Daniel Purcell’s surviving solo harpsichord music consists of arrangements, the only clear exception being the short Toccata, a brief essay in the style of the preludes from Henry Purcell’s harpsichord suites. The Suite is a simple but effective arrangement of movements from the composer’s own suite, for four-part strings, for Farquhar’s play The Inconstant. The expressive Rondeau is also likely an arrangement of a piece for four-part strings. The other three harpsichord pieces are simple arrangements of Daniel’s songs, derived from Oxford manuscripts, and reflecting Daniel’s links with the city.

Daniel Purcell also wrote a great deal of music for violin (or recorder) and continuo. The Chaconne is a cut-down version of a four-part piece from his suite for Trotter’s play The Unhappy Penitent. Also on this disc are several Sonatas for violin and continuo, inspired by the works of the Moravian composer Gottfried Finger (c. 1655 – 1730), as evident in the cheerful tunefulness of these works, the avoidance of counterpoint, and a fondness for short movements connected in a ‘patchwork’ fashion.

The violinist Hazel Brooks and harpsichordist David Pollock – also known as Duo Dorado – have been charming audiences with their performances since 1999. Inspired by a shared commitment to present music of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries in an accessible way, these two prize-winning musicians have performed together throughout the UK and beyond. Programmes by the duo have been praised for their varied and colourful textures; of one recording, Early Music Review wrote: ‘The performance from Hazel Brook is assured and stylish, complemented by some fine continuo accompanying as well as spirited solo playing from David Pollock.’

Leave a Reply