Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » The Beginnings of the Violin Concerto in France (24/96 FLAC)

The Beginnings of the Violin Concerto in France (24/96 FLAC)

The Beginnings of the Violin Concerto in France (24/96 FLAC)
The Beginnings of the Violin Concerto in France (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Jacques Aubert, Michel Corrette, Andre-Joseph Exaudet, Jean-Marie Leclair, Jean Baptiste Quentin
Performer: Johannes Pramsohler, Ensemble Diderot
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Audax
Catalogue: ADX13782
Release: 2021
Size: 1.34 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Aubert: Violin Concerto In D Major, Op. 26, No. 3
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Aria. Gracioso
03. III. Ciaconna

Leclair: Violin Concerto In E flat major
04. I. Allegro ma poco
05. II. Largo
06. III. Presto

Quentin: Concerto in A major, Op. 12, No. 1
07. I. Largo
08. II. Allegro
09. III. Adagio
10. IV. Allegro

Aubert: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 26 No. 4
11. I. Largo
12. II. Allegro
13. III. Aria. Largo et gracioso
14. IV. Carillon

Exaudet: Concerto a Cinq Instruments in E flat major
15. I. Andante
16. II. Largo
17. III. Allegro ma non presto

Corrette: Concerto comique No. 25 ‘Les Sauvages et la Furstemberg’
18. I. Les Sauvages. Allegro
19. II. Quand on sçait aimer et plaire. Andante
20. III. La Furstemberg. Allegro

France’s contribution to the genre of the Baroque solo concerto seems late and tentative, but it is fascinating to see how French composers celebrated the arrival of the violin and combined Italian robustness and French elegance in their works. Johannes Pramsohler and Ensemble Diderot take a journey to the origins of this hybrid form, presenting here the very first violin concertos by French composers, with two world-premiere recordings of concertos by Jean-Marie Leclair and Andre-Joseph Exaudet at the heart of this virtuosic and exciting programme.

“Pramsohler, violinist and founder of Ensemble Diderot, has given careful thought to the construction and originality of his programmes” – BBC Music Magazine

“[this is] music that would shine through even in merely adequate performances, but Ensemble Diderots one-to-a-part readings on original instruments are truly superb….”- Gramophone Magazine

Leave a Reply