Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Sol & Pat (24/96 FLAC)

Sol & Pat (24/96 FLAC)

Sol & Pat (24/96 FLAC)
Sol & Pat (24/96 FLAC)


Performer: Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Sol Gabetta
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Alpha
Catalogue: ALPHA757
Release: 2021
Size: 1.37 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Leclair: Tambourin
02. Widmann: Duos for Violin and Cello (24): XXIV. Toccatina all’inglese
03. Widmann: Duos for Violin and Cello (25): XXI. Valse bavaroise
04. Bach CPE: Suite in E minor, W.62 / 12 (H.66): VI. Presto
05. Coll: Rizoma

Ravel: Duo for violin and cello, Op. 7
06. I. Allegro
07. II. Très vif
08. III. Lent
09. IV. Vif, avec entrain

10. Markowicz: Interlude

Zbinden: La fête au village, Op. 9
11. I. Dimanche matin
12. II. Fanfare
13. III. Discours du syndic
14. IV. Filles et garçons
15. V. Pont de danse
16. VI. Soir

17. Xenakis: Dhipli Zyia
18. Ligeti: Hommage a Hilding Rosenberg

Kodály: Duo for Violin and Cello, Op. 7
19. I. Allegro serioso, non troppo
20. II. Adagio – Andante
21. III. Maestoso e largamente, ma non troppo lento – Presto
22. IV. Presto

23. Bach JS: Prelude & Fugue Book 1 No. 15 in G major, BWV860

This album celebrates a musical rapport that has lasted for twenty years and, above all, a true friendship: ‘We’re like two sisters, on stage and in life’, as Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Sol Gabetta like to say. In parallel with their dazzling solo careers, they have frequently got together for concerts in trio or double concerto formation (like the one written for them by Francisco Coll, recently released on ALPHA580). But they have conceived their new recording for a rather rare combination, the violin- cello duo – with the aim of choosing pieces they found interesting either stylistically or for the way they use the instruments. The programme includes the Duo written by Zoltán Kodály in 1914, which was not premiered until 1924, two years after Maurice Ravel’s Sonata for violin and cello, along with a few forays into the Baroque period (Leclair, Scarlatti, Bach) and, of course, works by twenty-first- century composers to whom the two soloists are very close: Jörg Widmann, Francisco Coll and Julien-François Zbinden are on the itinerary of this introspective journey into the generous world of two total artists.

Leave a Reply