Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Tanja Tetzlaff: Bach, Encke (24/96 FLAC)

Tanja Tetzlaff: Bach, Encke (24/96 FLAC)

Tanja Tetzlaff: Bach, Encke (24/96 FLAC)

Tanja Tetzlaff: Bach, Encke (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Thorsten Encke
Performer: Tanja Tetzlaff
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Avi
Release: 2019
Size: 1.47 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Bach: Suite No. 4 for Cello solo in E-Flat Major, BWV 1010
01. I. Prélude
02. II. Allemande
03. III. Courante
04. IV. Sarabande
05. V. Bourée I
06. Bourée II
07. VI. Gigue

08. Encke: Cracks for Cello & Tape “Thin on Ice”: Vivo – meno mosso, sempre flessibile

Bach: Suite No. 5 for Cello solo in C Minor, BWV 1011
09. I. Prélude
10. II. Allemande
11. III. Courante
12. IV. Sarabande
13. V. Gavotte I
14. Gavotte II
15. VI. Gigue

16. Encke: Clouds for Cello solo & Tape “Ice Mirror”: Leggiero e volando – misterioso, irreale – volando

Bach: Suite No. 6 for Cello solo in D Major, BWV 1012
17. I. Praeludium
18. II. Allemande
19. III. Courante
20. IV. Sarabande
21. V. Gavotte I
22. Gavotte II
23. VI. Gigue

Tanja Tetzlaff in conversation with Friederike E. Westerhaus: On this recording you are pairing three Bach cello suites with two pieces by Thorsten Encke. How does this coupling change the experience for the player and for the listener?

I don’t think it changes my way of playing, but certainly our way of listening. We come to hear Bach’s works differently because Encke’s unfamiliar sonorities startle and disturb us. Inserted between the suites, Encke’s pieces open up an entirely different world of sound. After Cracks, we probably feel alarmed, and we thus adopt a different attitude as we approach the 5th Suite, which is quite agitated in itself. Then, after Clouds, which closes with a small thunderstorm, we approach the 6th Suite feeling almost liberated – overjoyed that we have survived a dangerous excursion on thin ice.

With his two pieces, Encke builds bridges among the three suites and refers to them directly in his music. I find that the two works are quite different in character: Cracks is loud and noisy – fragile, as well – whereas Clouds is more melodious at the onset. How have you adapted your playing to the two works in terms of musical character?

Both pieces feature powerful, incredible drama within a small space. Both pieces are threatening, but also gorgeous. While you are out on the thin, dangerous ice, you can survive if you manage to enter into the right sort of vibration. You can go on gliding in that beautiful ice-skating rhythm without falling through. …… (Excerpt from the interview in the album booklet)

Leave a Reply