Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Palazzetto Bru Zane. Portraits vol.2 – Théodore Dubois (FLAC)

Palazzetto Bru Zane. Portraits vol.2 – Théodore Dubois (FLAC)

Palazzetto Bru Zane. Portraits vol.2 - Théodore Dubois (FLAC)
Palazzetto Bru Zane. Portraits vol.2 – Théodore Dubois (FLAC)

Composer: Théodore Dubois
Performer: Romain Descharmes, Flemish Radio Choir, François Saint-Yves, Chantal Santon, Jennifer Borghi, Mathias Vidal, Alain Buet, Marie Kalinine, Quatuor Giardini
Orchestra: Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra, Les Siècles
Conductor: Hervé Niquet, François-Xavier Roth
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Bru Zane
Catalogue: ES1018RSK
Release: 2015
Size: 803 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Symphonie No. 2 en Si Mineur
01. I. Allegro con moto
02. II. Andante grave, quasi adagio
03. III. Allegretto
04. IV. Allegro con moto

Sonate pour piano en La Mineur
05. I. Allegro moderato con fuoco
06. II. Andante quasi adagio
07. III. Largo – Allegro focoso

CD 02
Messe pontificale
01. I. Kyrie
02. II. Gloria
03. III. Credo
04. IV. Sanctus
05. V. O Salutaris
06. VI. Agnus Dei

07. Panis angelicus en Ré Majeur
08. O Salutaris
09. Ave verum
10. Ave Maria
11. O Salutaris
12. Ave Maria II

CD 03
Symphonie française en Fa Mineur
01. I. Largo – Allegro
02. II. Andantino
03. III. Allegro vivo, scherzando
04. IV. Allegro con fuoco

Quatuor pour violon, alto, violoncelle et piano en La Mineur
05. I. Allegro agitato
06. II. Andante molto espressivo
07. III. Allegro leggiero
08. IV. Allegro con fuoco

Each volume in the ‘Portraits’ series is devoted to a composer who has now largely been forgotten; it presents a varied selection of his works. Théodore Dubois is the perfect example of the ‘official’ composer during the time of French Romanticism: he successively was a Prix de Rome recipient (1861), organist at the Madeleine (1877), an academician (1894), and director of the Conservatoire (1896) where he had been teaching since 1871. However, so much injustice as well as honour was heaped upon his music – accused of academic rigidity – that it is important to rehear it to be in a better position to judge its real interest value. A representative selection of works, typically previously unrecorded, is provided on this multifaceted book-CD: a biography, extracts from Dubois’ recollections, as well as articles discussing the composer’s style and personality.

Leave a Reply