Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Mariinsky » Gergiev: Shostakovich – The Nose (24/96 FLAC)

Gergiev: Shostakovich – The Nose (24/96 FLAC)

Gergiev: Shostakovich - The Nose (24/96 FLAC)
Gergiev: Shostakovich – The Nose (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich
Performer: Yulia Khazanova, Nikolai Kamensky, Mikhail Kornblit, Tatiana Kravtsova, Elena Vitman, Sergei Skorokhodov, Sergei Yukhmanov, Alexei Tanovitski, Alexander Timchenko, Yuri Vorobiev, Vasily Gorshkov, Sergei Romanov, Andrei Popov, Igor Silakov, Vladislav Sulimsky, Yevgeny Strashko, Vladimir Zhivopistsev, Andrei Zorin, Gennady Bezzubenkov, Viktor Antipenko, Sergei Semishkur, Alexander Gerasimov, Zhanna Dombrovskaya, Alexander Gorev, Yevgeny Ulanov, Vadim Kravets, Vladislav Uspensky, Viktor Vikhrov
Orchestra: Mariinsky Orchestra
Conductor: Valéry Gergiev
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Mariinsky
Release: 2009
Size: 1.78 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

The Nose
CD 01
01.Prologue, “U tebia, Ivan Yakovlevich…”
02. Scene I, the Barber Shop of Ivan Yakovleich, “A…Segodnia ya…”
03. Scene II, the Embankment, “Podymil! Von Ty Chto-to Uronil”
04. Interlude
05. Scene III, Kovalev’s Bedroom, “Brr. Brr. Brr, Brr.”
06. Galop
07. Scene IV, Kazan Cathedral, “A…A…A…”
08. Prologue, “U Sebia Politsmeister?”
09. Scene V, At the Newspaper Office, “Poverite Li, sudar’…”
10. Interlude
11. Scene VI, Kovalev’s Apartment, “Nepobedimoi Siloi…”

CD 02
01. Scene VII, Outskirts of St. Petersburg, “Vlast’iu Moei Daetsia…”
02. Scene VIII, Kovalev’s Apartment and Podtochina’s Apartment, “Zdes’ Il Zhivet…”
03. Interlude, “Nos Maior Kovaleva Progulivaetsia Zdes’…”
04. Scene IX, Kovalev’s Apartment, “Vot On! Vot On! Nos!”
05. Scene X, Nevsky Prospect, “Zdravstvuite, Platon Kuzmichi!”

Dmitri Shostakovich’s satirical opera The Nose was premièred in 1930 and set in St Petersburg. Based on a short story by Nikolai Gogol, its absurd plot revolves around the exploits of a pompous government official and his nose. After a visit to the barber, the nose absconds from the man’s face and takes on a life of its own; the pretentious bureaucrat is reduced to desperation, frantically searching the city for his lost appendage. Although primarily a comic opera, The Nose touches on the struggle between the individual and society (here portrayed by a cast of over 80 characters), and its spiky score is a 1920’s modernist masterpiece from the prodigiously talented young composer. Forthcoming releases from Mariinsky feature a broad cross-section of Russian music.Well known and rarely heard works by Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich will feature alongside the first recording of Rodion Shchedrin’s opera The Enchanted Wanderer. ‘Mariinsky’ the label, will draw on the theatre’s rich legacy and historical ties to the great Russian composers. It will showcase the extraordinary talent within the theatre and orchestra, presenting works that are both familiar and less well known, enabling listeners to enjoy exceptional performances from one of the greatest opera and ballet companies.The Mariinsky Theatre can trace its origins back to 1783 when Catherine the Great issued a decree that led to its formation. It has staged the premieres of operas by Verdi, Borodin, Mussorgsky and Tchaikovsky as well as many of the great ballets including Sleeping Beauty, The Nutcracker, La Bayadère and Raimonda. The company remains committed to presenting new opera and ballet, most recently Smelkov’s The Brothers Karamazov and in 2009 will premiere three new mono- operas based on works by Gogol. Under the leadership of Valery Gergiev its international reputation has grown through frequent touring and recordings. It recently reverted to the Mariinsky name, having previously been known more widely by its Communist-era name of Kirov.

Leave a Reply