Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Gardiner: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Gardiner: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Gardiner: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)
Gardiner: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Orchestra: The English Baroque Soloists
Conductor: John Eliot Gardiner
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: Archiv
Size: 395 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Gabriel – Sylvia McNair
Uriel – Michael Schade
Raphael – Gerald Finley
Eva – Donna Brown
Adam – Rodney Gilfry

CD 1
01. Die Vorstellung Des Chaos
02. Im Anfange Schuf Gott Himmel Und Erde
03. Nun Schwanden Vor Dem Heiligen Strahle
04. Und Gott Machte Das Firmament
05. Mit Staunen Sieht Das Wunderwerk
06. Und Gott Sprach – Es sammle Sich Das Wasser
07. Rollend In Schaumenden Wellen
08. Und Gott Sprach – Es Bringe Die Erde Gras Hervor
09. Nun Beut Die Flur Das Frische Grun
10. Und Die Himmlischen Heerscharen Verkundigten
11. Stimmt An Die Saiten
12. Und Gott Sprach – Es Sei’N Lichter An Der Feste Des Himmels
13. In Vollem Glanze Steiget Jetzt
14. Die Himmel Erzahlen Die Ehre Gottes
15. Und Gott Sprach – Es Bringe Das Wasser In Der Fulle Hervor
16. Auf Starkem Fittiche Schwinget Sich Der Adler Stolz
17. Und Gott Schuf Gro?e Walfische
18. DUnd Die Engel Ruhrten Ihr’ Unsterblichen Harfen
19. In Holder Anmut Stehn

CD 2
01. Und Gott sprach – Es bringe Die Erde Hervor Lebende Geschopfe
02. Gleich Offnet Sich Der Erde Scho?
03. Nun Scheint In Vollem Glanze Der Himmel
04. Und Gott Schuf Den Menschen
05. Mit Wurd’ Und Hoheit Angetan
06. Und Gott Sah Jedes Ding
07. Vollendet Ist Das Gro?e Werk
08. Aus Rosenwolken Bricht
09. Von Deiner Gut’ O Herr Und Gott
10. Nun Ist Die Erste Pflicht Erfullt
11. Holde Gattin, Dir Zur Seite
12. O Glucklich Paar, Und Glucklich Immerfort
13. Singt Dem Herren, Alle Stimmen

Technical glitch?

Gardiner’s “Schoepfung” is marvellously performed! It is a delight from start to finish and a real “authentic” rival to the classical Karajan set. All the artists (Sylvia McNair/Gabriel, Michael Schade/Uriel, Gerald Finley/Raphael, Rodney Gilfry/Adam, Donna Brown/Eva – for those who searched in vain for the list of performers on the product information page) are perfectly cast and sing with real zest. Sylvia McNair, whose silvery voice can often go off pitch and whose short breath sometimes cuts musical phrases too early (not obtrusively here), works wonders with the dove trill in the famous avian aria “Auf starkem Fittiche” (CD 1, track 16) – her GIRRT in “Und Liebe girrt das zarte Taubenpaar” (track 16, 2’16”) is a pure delight (try now Janowitz on DG). It is just a small detail, but the whole performance is full of these delightful vocal and orchestral little touches and full of “creative” sparkles. I recommend it wholeheartedly to everybody, even those who believe that they found the perfect “Creation” in the Karajan’s set. I only wonder about that “technical glitch” a reviewer from Oakland mentions below. Is it the volume of the choral explosion “Und es ward Licht!”? If so, I believe that this very loud cry works very effectively here (I heard it done much louder). Everybody who knows Haydn’s masterpiece waits for this particular moment with hands close to the ears. But the newcomers should be warned (STOP READING HERE IF YOU DON’T WANT TO BE DEPRIVED OF A SURPRISE) – don’t turn the volume up when the chorus is hardly audible in the 2 track of the first CD (around the 2nd minute). It is as if Haydn anticipated the Big Bang!

1 thought on “Gardiner: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)”

  1. Once again, I’d like to thank you for making so many recordings of The Creation available for comparison. A most educational experience! This one is my favorite among recent recordings, though the Karajan is still in a class by itself.

Leave a Reply