Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » DG Collectors Edition » Abbado: Schubert – The Symphonies (FLAC)

Abbado: Schubert – The Symphonies (FLAC)

Abbado: Schubert - The Symphonies (FLAC)
Abbado: Schubert – The Symphonies (FLAC)

Composer: Franz Peter Schubert
Orchestra: Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Conductor: Claudio Abbado
Number of Discs: 5
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Catalogue: 4778687
Release: 2010
Size: 1.31 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Symphony No. 1 in D major, D82
01. 1. Adagio – Allegro vivace
02. 2. Andante
03. 3. Allegro
04. 4. Allegro vivace

Symphony No. 2 in B flat major, D125
05. 1. Largo – Allegro vivace
06. 2. Andante
07. 3. Menuetto (Allegro vivace)
08. 4. Presto

CD 02
Symphony No. 3 in D major, D200
01. 1. Adagio maestoso – Allegro con brio
02. 2. Allegretto
03. 3. Menuetto (Vivace)
04. 4. Presto. Vivace

Symphony No. 4 in C minor, D417 ‘Tragic’
05. 1. Adagio molto – Allegro vivace
06. 2. Andante
07. 3. Menuetto (Allegro vivace)
08. 4. Allegro

CD 03
Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, D485
01. 1. Allegro
02. 2. Andante con moto
03. 3. Menuetto (Allegro molto)
04. 4. Allegro vivace

Symphony No. 6 in C major, D589
05. 1. Adagio – Allegro
06. 2. Andante
07. 3. Scherzo (Presto)
08. 4. Allegro moderato

CD 04
Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D759 ‘Unfinished’
01. 1. Allegro moderato
02. 2. Andante con moto

Grand Duo Sonata in C major, D812
03. 1. Allegro moderato
04. 2. Andante
05. 3. Scherzo & Trio – Allegro vivace
06. 4. Finale. Allegro moderato

CD 05
Symphony No. 9 in C major, D944 ‘The Great’
01. 1. Andante – Allegro ma non troppo
02. 2. Andante con moto
03. 3. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
04. 4. Allegro vivace

Incidental music to Rosamunde, D797
05. Overture (Die Zauberharfe, D.644)

Sets of Franz Schubert’s complete symphonies fall into two categories, either presenting the Symphonies, Nos. 1-6; the two movements of the Symphony No. 8, “Unfinished”; and the Symphony No. 9, “Great,” with or without miscellaneous filler pieces, or, more innovatively, offering all of the above, a reconstruction of the sketches for the Symphony No. 7, and a completion of the last two movements of the “Unfinished.” While the latter would be best represented by Neville Marriner’s fascinating box set on Philips, which includes even sketches for unnumbered symphonies and a Symphony No. 10, most sets follow the first and simpler layout, without any speculation over what Schubert might have written, and focus instead on the masterworks that are beyond any dispute. Claudio Abbado’s set for Deutsche Grammophon basically belongs in the first category, because none of the sketches are bothered with. However, along with its unsurprising choice of the Rosamunde Overture as filler, the orchestrated “Grand Duo” Sonata in C major makes a rare appearance. This work was originally composed for piano duet, but the famous violinist Joseph Joachim arranged it in 1855, and it is the best-known orchestral treatment of this large-scale keyboard work. It has features common to Schubert’s symphonic style of his last years and is fairly convincing for its resemblances in lyrical flow to the “Unfinished” and in its expansive framework to the “Great.” Abbado’s performances with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe are first-rate readings that have fresh touches that keep the listener alert for novelty, and the orchestra plays with spontaneity and warmth. Deutsche Grammophon’s reproduction is exceptional, as always.

Leave a Reply