Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Zweden: Wagner – Die Walküre (24/96 FLAC)

Zweden: Wagner – Die Walküre (24/96 FLAC)

Zweden: Wagner - Die Walküre (24/96 FLAC)
Zweden: Wagner – Die Walküre (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Richard Wagner
Performer: Karen Foster, Matthias Goerne, Petra Lang, Katherine Broderick, Michelle DeYoung, Sarah Castle, Stuart Skelton, Anna Burford, Heidi Melton, Elaine McKrill, Falk Struckmann, Aurhelia Varak, Okka von der Damerau, Laura Nykänen
Orchestra: Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Jaap van Zweden
Number of Discs: 4
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Catalogue: 8660394-97
Release: 2016
Size: 4.39 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Die Walküre
CD 01
Act I
01. Scene 1: Prelude
02. Scene 1: Wess’ Herd diess auch sei (Siegmund, Sieglinde)
03. Scene 1: Einen Unseligen labtest du (Siegmund, Sieglinde)
04. Scene 2: Müd’ am Herd fand ich den Mann (Sieglinde, Hunding, Siegmund)
05. Scene 2: Friedmund darf ich nicht heissen (Siegmund, Hunding, Sieglinde)
06. Scene 2: Die so leidig Los dir beschied (Hunding, Sieglinde, Siegmund)
07. Scene 2: Ich weiss ein wildes Geschlecht (Hunding)
08. Scene 3: Ein Schwert verhiess mir der Vater (Siegmund)
09. Scene 3: Schläf’st du, Gast? (Sieglinde, Siegmund)
10. Scene 3: Winterstürme wichen dem Wonnemond (Siegmund)
11. Scene 3: Du bist der Lenz (Sieglinde)
12. Scene 3: O süsseste Wonne! Seligstes Weib! (Siegmund, Sieglinde)
13. Scene 3: War Wälse dein Vater, und bist du ein Wälsung (Sieglinde, Siegmund)
14. Scene 3: Siegmund, den Wälsung sieh’st du, Weib! (Siegmund, Sieglinde)

CD 02
Act II
01. Scene 1: Nun zäume dein Ross, reisige Maid! (Wotan)
02. Scene 1: Hojotoho! Hojotoho! Heiaha! Heiaha! (Brünnhilde)
03. Scene 1: Der alte Sturm, die alte Müh’! (Wotan, Fricka)
04. Scene 1: So ist es denn aus mit den ewigen Göttern (Fricka, Wotan)
05. Scene 1: Was verlang’st du? (Wotan, Fricka, Brünnhilde)
06. Scene 1: Deiner ew’gen Gattin heilige Ehre (Fricka, Wotan)
07. Scene 2: Schlimm, fürcht’ ich, schloss der Streit (Brünnhilde, Wotan)
08. Scene 2: Ein Andres ist’s (Wotan, Brünnhilde)
09. Scene 2: So nimmst du von Siegmund den Sieg? (Brünnhilde, Wotan)
10. Scene 2: So nimm meinen Segen, Niblungen-Sohn! (Wotan, Brünnhilde)

CD 03
Act II
01. Scene 2: So sah ich Siegvater nie (Brünnhilde)
02. Scene 3: Raste nun hier: gönne dir Ruh’! (Siegmund, Sieglinde)
03. Scene 4: Siegmund! Sieh’ auf mich! (Brünnhilde, Siegmund)
04. Scene 4: Du sah’st der Walküre sehrenden Blick (Brünnhilde, Siegmund)
05. Scene 4: So jung und schön erschimmerst du mir (Siegmund, Brünnhilde)
06. Scene 5: Zauberfest bezähmt ein Schlaf (Siegmund)
07. Scene 5: Der dort mich ruft (Siegmund, Sieglinde)
08. Scene 5: Zu Ross, dass ich dich rette! (Brünnhilde, Wotan)

CD 04
01. Scene 1: Hojotoho! Hojotoho! (The Valkyries), “Ride of the Valkyries”
02. Scene 1: Schützt mich und helft in höchster Not! (Brünnhilde, The Valkyries)
03. Scene 1: Nicht sehre dich Sorge um mich (Sieglinde, Brünnhilde, The Valkyries)
04. Scene 2: Wo ist Brünnhild’, wo die Verbrecherin? (Wotan, The Valkyries)
05. Scene 2: Hier bin ich, Vater: gebiete die Strafe! (Brünnhilde, Wotan)
06. Scene 3: Introduction
07. Scene 3: War es so schmählich, was ich verbrach (Brünnhilde, Wotan)
08. Scene 3: So tatest du, was so gern zu tun ich begehrt (Wotan, Brünnhilde)
09. Scene 3: Nicht streb’, o Maid, den Mut mir zu stören! (Wotan, Brünnhilde)
10. Scene 3: Leb’ wohl, du kühnes, herrliches Kind! (Wotan), “Wotan’s Farewell”
11. Scene 3: Der Augen leuchtendes Paar (Wotan)
12. Scene 3: Loge, hör’! Lausche hieher! (Wotan)
13. Scene 3: Magic Fire Music – Wer meines Speeres Spitze fürchtet (Wotan)

Comprising four separate operas, Der Ring des Nibelungen (The Ring of the Nibelung) is one of the supreme works in the history of music. Part II of the tetralogy, Die Walküre, centres on the young lovers Siegmund and Sieglinde, whose relationship angers Fricka, goddess of marriage, and on the disobedience of the Valkyrie Brünnhilde who is sent to carry out Fricka’s wishes. Performed by an all-star international cast, the work features thrilling set-pieces such as Wotan’s Farewell and the Ride of the Valkyries. The Prologue, Das Rheingold, can be heard on Naxos 8660374-75, selected as ‘Album of the Week’ by The Sunday Times of London, which praised its ‘thrilling sense of drama’.

The second part of Richard Wagner’s Der Ring des Nibelungen, Die Walküre relates the story from Norse mythology of Siegmund and Sieglinde, whose illicit love angers the goddess Fricka and leads inevitably to the birth of the hero Siegfried. This is the second installment in Jaap van Zweden’s ambitious Ring cycle with the Hong Kong Philharmonic, a project he regards as central to his work with the orchestra. The production features Stuart Skelton as Siegmund, Heidi Melton as Sieglinde, and Falk Struckmann as Hunding, the jealous husband of Sieglinde, along with Matthias Goerne as Wotan, Michelle DeYoung as Fricka, and Petra Lang as the Valkyrie of the title, Brünnhilde. This cast may not have the name recognition of the great Bayreuth veterans, but these are strong voices well trained in Wagner’s notoriously demanding music, and the performance as a whole is convincing. The Hong Kong Philharmonic may not seem like a rising Wagnerian orchestra, but in spite of some occasional rough edges, it plays its heart out and gives the score the intensity, color, and grandeur it requires. This live performance was recorded at the spacious Hong Kong Cultural Center Concert Hall in 2016, and is the second of four recordings issued annually until the cycle is completed in 2018.

Leave a Reply