Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Urioste, Poster – The Jukebox Album (24/96 FLAC)

Urioste, Poster – The Jukebox Album (24/96 FLAC)

Urioste, Poster - The Jukebox Album (24/96 FLAC)
Urioste, Poster – The Jukebox Album (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Clarice Assad, Lili Boulanger, Cécile Chaminade, Gabriel Urbain Fauré, Cheryl Frances-Hoad, Carlos Gardel, Donald Grant, Louis Guglielmi, Jerome Kern, Jessie Montgomery, Cole Albert Porter, Manning Sherwin, Mark Simpson, Stephen Joshua Sondheim, Huw Watkins
Performer: Elena Urioste, Tom Poster
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Orchid
Catalogue: ORC100173
Release: 2021
Size: 1.13 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Kern: Look for the silver lining
02. Boulanger: Cortège for violin & piano
03. Simpson: An Essay of Love
04. Guglielmi: La vie en rose
05. Frances-Hoad: Bloom
06. Chaminade: Sérénade espagnole, Op. 150
07. Gardel: El dia que me quieras
08. Assad: Emotiva
09. Porter: Begin the beguine
10. Fauré: Andante in B flat for Violin and Piano Op. 75
11. Sherwin: A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
12. Watkins: Arietta for Violin & Piano
13. trad.: Londonderry Air
14. Sondheim: A Little Night Music: Send in the Clowns
15. Montgomery: Peace
16. Grant: Bha là eile ann
17. Jukebox Toodle-oo

When the pandemic struck early in 2020, violinist Elena Urioste and pianist-composer Tom Poster responded by channeling their creative energies into #UriPosteJukeBox, a portmanteau of their surnames and a nod to the retro feel of the jukebox with its eclectic selection of songs to be chosen by the listener. The original intention was to produce one video of the duo performing together for every day of the lockdown (which at the time was anticipated to be relatively brief). What followed was a project that took off in ways the pair had never dreamed of, capturing the imaginations and hearts of listeners across the globe, embracing requests that traversed many musical genres, featuring commissions by contemporary composers, and entertaining followers with increasingly elaborate costumes, props, additional instruments, and multi-tracking.

In all, they made 88 videos – one for each key on a piano. The impact of the endeavor and the joy it brought in an extraordinarily challenging time were more formally recognized when the Jukebox won a Royal Philharmonic Society Inspiration Award. This album captures the spontaneous and varied feel of the original videos, drawing together some of the duo’s favorite pieces in a way that celebrates this joyous project and all those who contributed to it.

Leave a Reply