Turovsky: Shchedrin - Carmen Suite (FLAC)
Turovsky: Shchedrin – Carmen Suite (FLAC)

Composer: Rodion Shchedrin, Joaquin Turina
Performer: Catherine Perrin
Orchestra: I Musici de Montréal
Conductor: Yuli Turovsky
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC
Label: Chandos
Size: 267 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: no

Joaquin Turina
01. La oracion del torero, Op.34
Rodion Shchedrin
Carmen Suite
02. Introduction
03. Dance
04. First Intermezzo
05. Changing of the Guard
06. Carmen’s Entrance and Habanera
07. Scene
08. Second Intermezzo
09. Bolero
10. Torero
11. Torero and Carmen
12. Adagio
13. Fortune Telling
14. Finale
15. In imitation of Albenis
16. Stalin-cocktail
17. Humoresque

This is the most amazing orchestration of Bizet’s score by Schedrin. There is no singing as it was envisaged as a ballet and it works wonderfully. Full of rythmn and one of the longest crescendos in music! Schedrin used a couple of pieces by Bizet not in the opera score but they add great dimension. Matthew Bourne used this score for his ballet The Car Man after his incredible produduction of Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake. Do not hesitate to buy this and appreciate listening to a new angle on one of the most famous Operas.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply