Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Thomas Sauer – Sovereign Lines (24/96 FLAC)

Thomas Sauer – Sovereign Lines (24/96 FLAC)

Thomas Sauer - Sovereign Lines (24/96 FLAC)
Thomas Sauer – Sovereign Lines (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Hans Abrahamsen, Thomas Adès, Frédéric François Chopin, Stephen Hartke
Performer: Thomas Sauer
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Azica
Catalogue: Azica71338
Release: 2021
Size: 1.06 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Adès: Traced Overhead, Op. 15
01. I. Sursum
02. II. Aetheria
03. III. Chori

Chopin: 3 Mazurkas, Op. 59, B. 157
04. No. 1 in A Minor
05. No. 2 in A-Flat Major
06. No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor

Hartke: Piano Sonata
07. I. Prelude
08. II. Scherzo (Epicycles, Tap-Dancing and a Soft Shoe)
09. III. Postlude

Chopin: Waltzes, Op. 64, B. 164 (Excerpts)
10. No. 2 in C-Sharp Minor
11. No. 3 in A-Flat Major

Chopin: Nocturnes, Op. 62, B. 161
12. No. 2 in E Major

Abrahamsen: 10 Studies
13. No. 1, Traumlied
14. No. 2, Sturm
15. No. 3, Arabeske
16. No. 4, Ende
17. No. 5, Boogie-Woogie
18. No. 6, For the Children
19. No. 7, Blues
20. No. 8, Rivière d’oubli
21. No. 9, Cascades
22. No. 10, Le trombe del mattino

“It cannot be easy to write for solo piano: so many magnificent sounds of the 18th and 19th centuries abide in the ears of today’s pianists and concertgoers. By including some of his favorite Chopin miniatures alongside three major piano pieces from the 1990’s, Thomas Sauer could well stand accused of an all-too-common reluctance to break from the past. He prefers to treat with this vexed situation pragmatically, acknowledging the reality that most of his listeners will perceive the new refracted through the lens of the old, and that some will simply be more inclined to keep listening when given a dose of the familiar together with the strange. All three recent works recorded here bear some imprint of the pianistic past – each in a different way – and yet all three successfully outrun it.

Leave a Reply