Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Sony Great Performances » The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli (FLAC)

The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli (FLAC)

The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli (FLAC)

The Antiphonal Music of Gabrieli (FLAC)

Composer: Giovanni Gabrieli
Performer: Cleveland Brass Ensemble, Philadelphia Brass Ensemble, Chicago Brass Ensemble, New England Brass Ensemble, E. Power Biggs
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Sony
Release: 2004
Size: 408 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

01. Canzon Septimi Toni No. 2
02. Canzon Duodecimi Toni
03. Canzon à 12 in Echo
04. Sonata Octavi Toni
05. Canzona per Sonare No. 27
06. Canzon Quarti Toni
07. Canzon à 12
08. Canzona per Sonare No. 28
09. Sonata Pian’e Forte
10. Canzon Primi Toni
11. Canzon Septimi Toni No. 1
12. Canzon Noni Toni
13. Canzona per Sonare No. 2

Intonazioni d’Organo:
14. Primo Tono
15. Secondo Tono
16. Terzo e Quarto Tono

17. Canzona per Sonare No. 1 “La Spiritata”

Intonazioni d’Organo:
18. Ottavo Tono
19. Nono Tono
20. Dècimo Tono

21. Canzona per Sonare No. 3

Intonazioni d’Organo:
22. Undicèsimo Tono
23. Duodècimo Tono

24. Canzona per Sonare No. 4
25. Fantasia in the Sixth Tone
26. Toccata in D minor
27. Canzon Prima in G Major
28. Canzon Seconda in C Major
29. Canzon Terza in A minor
30. Canzon Quarta in G minor
31. Canzon Quinta in G minor
32. Toccata in G Major

This generous CD is a welcome re-issue of two albums from 1968 and 1959 of brass ensemble, solo organ, and brass with organ music. 25 selections from the music of Giovanni Gabrieli and for comparison 7 works by Girolamo Frescobaldi are offered. The brass ensemble works are played by various combinations of the Philadelphia, Cleveland, and Chicago Brass Ensembles. The Boston Brass Ensemble and Cleveland Brass Ensemble accompany the works for organ and brass, with the organ played by E. Power Biggs. Some of the highlights of the collection are the “Canzon à 12 in echo” which requires all three brass ensembles who usually echo only the last part of a melodic statement rather than imitate the full line; the incredible interweavings of the “Canzon à 12”; the sombre meditations of the “Sonata pian’ e forte”; the joyful forward-rushing lines and magnificence of the “Canzon per sonare no. 2”; the Frescobaldi “Toccata in D minor” with its extraordinary improvisations over long pedal tones, and the “Toccata in G major” with its unusual melodies and variations. Needless to say, all the performanes are top notch with great verve, intonation skill, and clarity of ensemble articulation.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort