Home » Classical Downloads » Tennstedt: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Tennstedt: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Tennstedt: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Tennstedt: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Performer: Benjamin Luxon, Lucia Popp, Anthony Rolfe Johnson
Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Klaus Tennstedt
Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: BBC
Size: 419 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Gabriel – Lucia Popp
Uriel – Anthony Rolfe-Johnson
Raphael – Benjamin Luxon
Eva – Lucia Popp
Adam – Benjamin Luxon

CD 1
01. Die Vorstellung des Chaos – Im Anfange schuf Gott Himmel und Erde
02. Nun schwanden cor dem heiligen Strahle
03. Und Gott machte das Firmament
04. Mit Staunen sieht das Wunderwerk
05. Und Gott sprach: Es sammle sich das Wasser
06. Rollend in schaumenden Wellen
07. Und Gott sprach: Es bringe die Erde Gras hervor
08. Nun beut die Flur das frische Grun
09. Und die himmlischen Heerscharen verkundigten
10. Stimmat an die Saiten, ergreift die Leier
11. Und Gott sprach: Es sei’n Lichter an der Feste
12. In vollem Glanze steiget jetzt
13. Die Himmel erzahlen die Ehre Gottes – Dem kommenden Tage sagt es der Tag

CD 2
01. Und Gott sprach: Es bringe das Wasser
02. Auf starkem Fittiche
03. Und Gott schuf großen Walfische
04. Und die Engel rührten
05. In holder Anmut stehn
06. Der Herr ist groß in seiner Macht
07. Es bringe die Erde hervor
08. Gleich öffnet sich der Erde Schoß
09. Nun scheint in vollem Glanze der Himmel
10. Und Gott schuf dem Menschen
11. Mit Würd’ und Hoheit angetan
12. Und Gott sah jedes Ding
13. Vollendet ist das große Werk
14. Zu dir, o Herr, blickt alles auf
15. Aus Rosenwolken bricht
16. Von deiner Güt’, o Herr und Gott
17. Nun ist die erste Pflicht erfüllt
18. Holde Gattin!
19. O glücklich Paar
20. Singt dem Herren alle Steimmen!

A delightfully old-fashioned Creation spoiled by cavernous sound

There’s no Solomon’s choice here — unless you like plush, semi-Victorian oratorio style, this Haydn Creation from Tennstedt and the London Phil. will feel antique. Most reviewers compared it unfavorably to recent period-style readings that are leaner and crisper. But if like me you don’t want to hear zingy strings, acidic winds, and thwacking timpani that sound like grenades exploding in the background, this prformance will come as a relief, despite the occasional turgid texture and creeping tempo.

Tennstedt clearly thinks of the Creation as a precursor to Beethoven, far more than even Bernstein and Karajan, two other excellent tradiitonalists. We get a sizable orchestra and chorus, the latter as fine as one expects from London. Among the vocal soloists, Benjamin Luxon sounds a little too curdled at this late date (1984), but Anthony Rolfe-Johnson and Lucia Popp are delightful.

The big problem here, however, and a nearly fatal one, is the cavernous, overly resonant sound from Royal Festival Hall. It loses almost all inner detail, smothering Haydn’s exceptional woodwind writing, and the timpani are mailed in from down the street. The chorus is so blurry it might as well be singing in Old Church Slavonic. What a shame, because the one thing The Creation needs, joyous optimism, is here in abundance. For all its flaws, I got more pleasure from Tennstedt’s reading than from the utterly correct, utterly joyless accounts by Gardiner, Harnoncourt, Norrington, and their ilk.

1 thought on “Tennstedt: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)”

  1. Igor Sarudiansky

    After 21 posts of The Creation, I could not resist on making a comment on the cincidence that I am playing The Creation with my orchestra, OSESP, under the direction of Claus Peter Flor this week. Unbelieveble…

Leave a Reply