Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Maasaki Suzuki plays Bach Organ Works (24/96 FLAC)

Maasaki Suzuki plays Bach Organ Works (24/96 FLAC)

Suzuki: Bach - Organ Works (24/96 FLAC)
Suzuki: Bach – Organ Works (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Performer: Masaaki Suzuki
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Bis
Size: 1.34 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV565:
01. Toccata
02. Fugue

Pastorale (Pastorella) in F major, BWV590:
03. [F major]
04. [C major]
05. [C minor]
06. [F major]

Partite diverse sopra il Corale ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’, BWV767:
07. Partita I
08. Partita II (a 2 Clav.)
09. Partita III
10. Partita IV
11. Partita V
12. Partita VI
13. Partita VII
14. Partita VIII
15. Partita IX (a 2 Clav.)

16. Fantasia (Piece d’orgue) in G major, BWV572

Prelude and Fugue in G minor, BWV535:
17. Prelude
18. Fugue

Canonic Variations on ‘Vom Himmel hoch da komm’ ich her’, BWV769:
19. I. Canone all’ Ottava
20. II. Alio modo in Canone alla Quinta
21. III. Canone alla Settima
22. IV. Canon all’ Ottava per augmentationem
23. V. L’altra sorte del Canone all’ rovescio

Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV548:
24. Prelude
25. Fugue

The recipient of the 2012 City of Leipzig Bach Medal, Masaaki Suzuki has earned an enviable reputation as an interpreter of the music of Johann Sebastian Bach – as a reviewer in International Record Guide has put it: ‘With Suzuki you can hear Bach’s heart beat’. To a wide audience he is known as the director of Bach Collegium Japan, and the moving force behind the ensemble’s acclaimed recordings of Bach’s complete sacred cantatas. Perhaps less well known is that he began his career – at the age of 12! – playing the organ at church services in Kobe, where he was born. Suzuki has remained true to the organ throughout his life, and for BIS he has previously recorded Bach’s German Organ Mass, as well as programmes of Buxtehude and Sweelinck. He here appears on a disc which combines some of Bach’s best-loved works for the instrument, including the D minor Toccata and Fugue, the Partitas on ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’, BWV 767, the Canonic Variations, BWV 769, and the celebrated Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 548. The recording was made in Groningen’s Martinikerk, with Suzuki performing on the renowned organ, one of the most important and impressive in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply