Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Sueye Park – Journey Through a Century (24/96 FLAC)

Sueye Park – Journey Through a Century (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Fritz Kreisler, Krzysztof Penderecki, Sergei Prokofiev, Max Reger, Alfred Schnittke, Richard Strauss, Mieczyslaw Weinberg, Eugene Ysaÿe, Isang Yun
Performer: Sueye Park
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: BIS
Release: 2021
Size: 1.41 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Reger: Prelude and Fugue in D minor, Op. 117 No. 6
01. I. Prelude
02. II. Fugue

Kreisler: Recitative & Scherzo Caprice, Op. 6
03. I. Recitativo
04. II. Scherzo-Caprice

05. Ysaÿe: Sonata for solo violin in E major, Op. 27 No. 6
06. Strauss: Study in G Major, AV 141 “Daphne”

Prokofiev: Sonata in D major for solo violin, Op. 115
07. I. Moderato
08. II. Theme with Variations
09. III. Con brio. Allegro precipitato

Weinberg: Sonata for Solo Violin No. 2, Op. 95
10. I. Monody
11. II. Rests
12. III. Intervals
13. IV. Replies
14. V. Accompaniment
15. VI. Invocation
16. VII. Syncopes

17. Yun: Königliches Thema (After Bach’s BWV 1079)
18. Schnittke: A Paganini for violin solo
19. Penderecki: Capriccio for Solo Violin

For her third disc, the young Korean violinist Sueye Park has explored the repertoire for solo violin, and chosen works spanning exactly 100 hundred years –from Max Reger’s Prelude and Fugue from 1909 to Penderecki’s Capriccio, composed in 2008. Framing the 20th century, the programme starts as a relay race of famous violinist-composers; Reger dedicating his piece to Kreisler, who dedicated his Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice to Ysaÿe, who wrote his Sonata No. 6 for the Spanish virtuoso Manuel Quiroga. In this series of names, that of Richard Strauss may come as a surprise, but his little-known Daphne-Etüde from 1945 is also dedicated to a violinist – his young grandson. The journey now turns eastwards with two solo sonatas, by Prokofiev and Weinberg, that were both composed in Moscow, albeit 20 years apart. These are followed by Isang Yun’s ‘Royal Theme’. The Korean-born composer uses the theme from Bach’s Musical Offering, but takes it on ‘a walk through the Asian tradition’ in the course of seven variations. In A Paganini, Alfred Schnittke revisits another colleague from the past – and one closely associated with the violin. Finally bringing us into the 21st century is Penderecki, whose early training as a violinist stood him in good stead when he composed his virtuosic Capriccio.