Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Chaconne » Standage: Thonas Arne – Overtures (24/96 FLAC)

Standage: Thonas Arne – Overtures (24/96 FLAC)

Standage: Thonas Arne - Overtures (24/96 FLAC)
Standage: Thonas Arne – Overtures (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Thomas Arne
Orchestra: Collegium Musicum 90
Conductor: Simon Standage
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Catalogue: CHAN0722
Release: 2006
Size: 1.29 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Overture to Thomas and Sally in D major
01. I. Presto
02. II. Scotch Gavotte: Affettuoso

Overture 1 in E minor
03. I. Largo ma non troppo
04. II. Allegro con spirito
05. III. Andante e piano
06. IV. Allegro con spirito

Overture 2 in A minor
07. I. Con spirito
08. II. Allegro
09. III. Minuetto

Overture No. 3 in G major (from Henry and Emma)
10. I. Presto
11. II. Andante piano
12. III. Tempo di minuetto: Con spirito

Overture 4 in F major
13. I. Con spirito
14. II. Con spirito
15. III. Andante piano

Overture 5 in D major
16. I. Presto
17. II. Andante e piano
18. III. Allegro con spirito

Overture 6 in B flat major
19. I. Largo ma audace
20. II. Allegro
21. III. Grave et piano
22. IV. Gavotta vivace

Overture No. 7 in D major (from Comus)
23. I. Largo
24. II. Allegro
25. III. Allegro

Overture No. 8 in G minor (from Judgement of Paris)
26. I. Largo
27. II. Con spirito
28. III. Minuet: Andante
29. IV. Giga: Con spirito

Alfred: Overture
30. I. Allegro moderato
31. II. Andante
32. III. Largo
33. IV. Tempo di minuetto

Collegium Musicum 90 rarely get the adulation they deserve. This anthology of overtures by Arne, featuring a who’s who of the English period-instrument scene, is a charming disc of beautifully played and brightly executed performances.

Simon Standage nurtures affectionate interpretations and his violin-playing still perpetuates the impeccable stylishness and musical taste that made his pioneering recordings with Pinnock and Hogwood so enduring.

The Overture to the English comic opera Thomas and Sally (1760) gets things off to a splendid start; its Scotch gavotte features masterful, witty playing from bassoonist Sally Jackson.

The bulk of the disc is devoted to ‘Eight Overtures in 8 Parts’ that Arne published in 1751. Peter Holman’s informative bookletnotes say these overtures were probably extracted from introductions to vocal works, many of which are now lost. Among the finest moments are the vivacious opening Presto of Overture No 3 and the invigorated horn blasts and chuckling oboes in the middle movement of No 4. Trumpeters Crispian Steele-Perkins and David Blackadder provide grandeur in the bright Overture to Arne’s setting of Milton’s Comus (No 7).

Although those devoted to pleading Arne’s cause would love to hear a recording of such fine quality of Comus, or the oratorio Judith, this collection is comfortably among the strongest advocacies of Arne’s merits on CD.

Leave a Reply