Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Songs to Harp from the Old and New World (FLAC)

Songs to Harp from the Old and New World (FLAC)

Songs to Harp from the Old and New World (FLAC)
Songs to Harp from the Old and New World (FLAC)

Composer: George Gershwin, Richard Strauss, Kurt Weill
Performer: Torsten Mossberg, Stina Hellberg Agback
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Sterling
Release: 2021
Size: 265 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Weill: Oh Captain! My Captain!
02. Weill: Dirge For Two Veterans
03. Weill: Es regnet
04. Weill: My ship
05. Strauss: Die Nacht, Op. 10 No. 3
06. Strauss: Breit’ über mein Haupt Op. 19 No. 2
07. Strauss: Morgen, Op. 27 No. 4
08. Strauss: Traum durch die Dämmerung, Op. 29 No. 1
09. Gershwin: Oh, Lady Be Good!
10. Gershwin: Someone to Watch over Me
11. Gershwin: How Long Has This Been Going On
12. Gershwin: But Not for Me
13. Gershwin: They Can’t Take That Away From Me
14. Gershwin: Love Is Here to Stay

A harp creates completely different overtones than a grand piano, which makes a big difference between singing with the accompaniment of a harp, and a grand piano. The singer has to adjust the ears to a completely different sound that partly supports the song well, but also makes it difficult for the singer to intonate; the singer is more vulnerable than with a piano accompaniment. The harp’s design makes it hard for the harpist to quickly make key changes and modulations, that for a pianist is natural, or even simple. Sometimes the key has to be adapted to the harp’s capability. A good and direct communication between singer and accompanist is always essential, regardless of accompaniment. Even a flexible and sensitive harpist can experience more difficulties to shift tempo than a pianist, forcing the singer to phrase different than singing to the piano or guitar. However, such difficulties must be tackled and afterwards the cooperation can be rewarded with an emergence of a magical atmosphere. Since the harpist Stina Hellberg Agback is also a skilful improviser, another dimension is added, here in the songs by George Gershwin.

Leave a Reply