Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Sir Neville Marriner – The Stuttgart Recordings (FLAC)

Sir Neville Marriner – The Stuttgart Recordings (FLAC)

Sir Neville Marriner - The Stuttgart Recordings (FLAC)
Sir Neville Marriner – The Stuttgart Recordings (FLAC)

Conductor: Sir Neville Marriner
Number of Discs: 15
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Capriccio
Catalogue: C7230
Release: 2018
Size: 3.44 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

CD 01
01. Beethoven: Fidelio Overture Op. 72c
02. Beethoven: Coriolan Overture, Op. 62
03. Beethoven: The Ruins of Athens Overture, Op. 113
04. Beethoven: König Stephan Overture, Op. 117
05. Beethoven: Zur Namensfeier overture, Op. 115
06. Beethoven: Consecration of the House Overture, Op. 124
07. Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 1, Op. 138

CD 02
01. Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 2, Op. 72a
02. Beethoven: Egmont Overture, Op. 84

Beethoven: Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus, Op. 43 (Orchestral Excerpts)
03. Overtüre
04. Allegro vivace
05. Adagio
06. Pastorale
07. Andante
08. Finale

09. Beethoven: Leonore Overture No. 3, Op. 72b

CD 03
Schumann: Symphony No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 38 ‘Spring’
01. I. Andante un poco maestoso – Allegro molto vivace
02. II. Larghetto
03. III. Scherzo. Molto vivace
04. IV. Allegro animato e grazioso

Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61
05. I. Sostenuto assai – Allegro, ma non troppo
06. II. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
07. III. Adagio espressivo
08. IV. Allegro molto vivace

CD 04
Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 97 ‘Rhenish’
01. I. Lebhaft
02. II. Scherzo. Sehr mäßig
03. III. Nicht schnell
04. IV. Feierlich
05. V. Lebhaft

Schumann: Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120
06. I. Ziemlich langsam – Lebhaft
07. II. Romanze. Ziemlich langsam
08. III. Scherzo. Lebhaft
09. IV. Langsam – Lebhaft

CD 05
Schumann: Symphony in G Minor, WoO 29 “Zwickauer”
01. I. Allegro molto
02. II. Andantino assai – Allegretto

03. Schumann: Manfred Overture, Op. 115

Schumann: Overture, Scherzo, and Finale, Op. 52
04. I. Overture. Andante con moto – Allegro
05. II. Scherzo. Vivo
06. III. Finale. Allegro molto vivace

CD 06
Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 1 in D minor, Op. 43
01. I. Introduzione e fuga. Andante sostenuto – Moderato e con anima
02. II. Divertimento. Allegro moderato
03. III. Intermezzo. Andante semplice
04. IV. Marche miniature. Moderato con moto
05. V. Scherzo. Allegro con moto
06. VI. Gavotte. Allegro

Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 2 in C major, Op. 53
07. I. Jeu de sons. Andantino un poco rubato
08. II. Valse. Moderato. Tempo di valse
09. III. Scherzo burlesque. Vivace con spirito
10. IV. Rêves d’enfant. Andante molto sostenuto
11. V. Danse baroque. Vivacissimo

CD 07
Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 3 in G major, Op.55
01. I. Élégie. Andantino molto cantabile
02. II. Valse mélancolique. Allegro moderato
03. III. Scherzo. Presto
04. IV. Tema con variazioni. Andante con moto

Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 4 in G major, Op.61 ‘Mozartiana’
05. I. Gigue. Allegro
06. II. Menuet. Moderato
07. III. Preghiera. Andante non tanto
08. IV. Tema con variazioni. Allegro giusto

CD 08
Mahler: Symphony No. 4
01. I. Bedächtig, nicht eilen
02. II. In gemächlicher Bewegung, ohne Hast
03. III. Ruhevoll, poco adagio
04. IV. Sehr behaglich

CD 09
01. Strauss: Don Juan, Op. 20

Strauss: Capriccio
02. Introduction

03. Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier – Suite

CD 10
01. Strauss: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche, Op. 28
02. Strauss: Metamorphosen

CD 11
Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27
01. I. Largo – Allegro moderato
02. II. Allegro molto
03. III. Adagio
04. IV. Allegro vivace

Rachmaninov: Songs, Op. 34
05. Vocalise in E Minor, Op. 34 No. 14 (Version for Orchestra)

CD 12
01. Bartók: The Miraculous Mandarin, Op. 19, Sz. 73 (ballet)

Bartók: Dance Suite, BB 86, Sz. 77
02. I. Moderato
03. II. Allegro molto
04. III. Allegro vivace
05. IV. Molto tranquillo
06. V. Commodo
07. VI. Finale

Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion & Celesta, BB 114, Sz. 106
08. I. Andante tranquillo
09. II. Allegro
10. III. Adagio
11. IV. Allegro molto

CD 13
Honegger: Symphony No. 3, H186 ‘Liturgique’
01. I. Dies irae. Allegro marcato
02. II. De profundis clamavi. Adagio
03. III. Dona nobis pacem. Andante

Britten: Sinfonia da Requiem, Op. 20
04. I. Lacrymosa. Andante ben misurato
05. II. Dies irae. Allegro con fuoco
06. III. Requiem aeternam. Andante molto tranquillo

Britten: Sinfonietta, Op. 1
07. I. Poco presto ed agitato
08. II. Variations
09. III. Tarantella

CD 14
01. Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
02. Gershwin: An American in Paris, tone poem

Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F major
03. I. Allegro moderato
04. II. Andante con moto
05. III. Allegro con brio

CD 15
01. Gershwin: Porgy & Bess (Excerpts Arr. for Orchestra)
02. Barber: Medea’s Meditation and Dance of Vengeance, Op. 23a
03. Copland: El Salón México

Bernstein: Fancy Free Suite
04. I. Enter 3 Sailors
05. II. Scene at the Bar
06. IV. Pas de deux
07. VIa. Var. 1, Galop
08. VIb. Var. 2, Waltz
09. VIc. Var. 3, Danzon
10. VII. Finale

11. Bernstein: West Side Story (Excerpts Arr. for Orchestra)

In Stuttgart, 1983 – 1989, Neville Marriner followed Sergiu Celibidache, offering quite the contrast to that willfully prodigious Romanian broodingly charismatic style with his own easy-going, less spectacular but genial manner and music-making. His sound wasn’t as dense and carefully crafted, but the ensemble’s playing became lighter and flexible, agile rather than probing. It is in his Stuttgart period that Marriner increasingly focused on repertoire that went beyond the baroque and classical periods. This compilation offers repertoire which music lovers will be less likely to associate with Marriner: German romanticism, including all of Schumann’s Symphonies, Richard Strauss, Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff, Mahler, Bartok and Gershwin. The fundamental impression that comes from re-listening to these performances, apart from good and fresh music-making, is one of sympathetic music-making. That feels about right as an epitaph for the man and his body of work.

Leave a Reply