Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Septura: Music for Brass Septet vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Septura: Music for Brass Septet vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Septura: Music for Brass Septet vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Septura: Music for Brass Septet vol.1 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johannes Brahms, Anton Bruckner, Felix Mendelssohn, Robert Schumann
Performer: Septura
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Release: 2014
Size: 959 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Mendelssohn: Organ Sonata in C Minor, Op. 65, No. 2, MWV W57 (arr. S. Cox for brass septet)
01. I. Grave
02. II. Adagio
03. III. Allegro maestoso e vivace
04. IV. Fuga: Allegro moderato

Schumann: 4 Doppelchorige Gesange, Op. 141 (arr. S. Cox for brass septet)
05. No. 1. An die Sterne
06. No. 2. Ungewisses Licht
07. No. 3. Zuversicht
08. No. 4. Talismane

Brahms: 11 Chorale Preludes, Op. 122 (excerpts) (arr. S. Cox for brass septet)
09. No. 1. Mein Jesu, der du mich
10. No. 2. Herzliebster Jesu
11. No. 7. O Gott, du frommer Gott
12. No. 3. O Welt, ich muss dich lassen
13. No. 9. Herzlich tut mich verlangen

14. Brahms: Geistliches Lied, Op. 30
15. Bruckner: Aequalis No. 1 for three trombones
16. Bruckner: Aequalis No. 2 for three trombones
17. Bruckner: Locus iste, WAB 23 (arr. M. Knight for 3 trombones and tuba)
18. Bruckner: Christus factus est, WAB 11 (arr. S. Cox for 2 trumpets and 3 trombones)
19. Bruckner: Ave Maria, WAB 6 (arr. S. Cox for brass septet)
20. Bruckner: Os justi meditabitur sapientiam

What if four celebrated nineteenth-century composers – Mendelssohn, Schumann, Bruckner and Brahms – had written original works for brass septet? This disc explores that fascinating counterfactual twist, re-imagining choral and organ works by those composers. The arrangements call on the full dynamic and tonal range of the instruments – often extended with a multitude of mutes – to imitate the expressivity of the choir, the power of the organ, and the versatile sonorities of its different registrations and manuals. In dazzling and varied combinations the arrangers and performers together persuade us that this could indeed be original brass chamber music.

Leave a Reply

mersin escort - eskişehir eskort