Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Sampson, Rophé: Canteloube – Chants d’Auvergne (24/96 FLAC)

Sampson, Rophé: Canteloube – Chants d’Auvergne (24/96 FLAC)

Sampson, Rophé: Canteloube - Chants d'Auvergne (24/96 FLAC)
Sampson, Rophé: Canteloube – Chants d’Auvergne (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Joseph Canteloube
Performer: Carolyn Sampson
Orchestra: Tapiola Sinfonietta
Conductor: Pascal Rophé
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: BIS
Catalogue: BIS2513
Release: 2021
Size: 1.14 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Chants d’Auvergne, Series 1 (Version for Soprano & Orchestra)
01. No. 1, La pastoura als camps
02. No. 2, Baïlèro
03. No. 3a, 3 Bourrées. L’aïo dè rotso
04. No. 3b, 3 Bourrées. Ound’ onorèn gorda?
05. No. 3c, 3 Bourrées. Obal, din lou Limouzi

Chants d’Auvergne, Series 2 (Version for Soprano & Orchestra)
06. No. 1, Pastourelle
07. No. 4, La delaïssádo
08. No. 5a, 2 Bourrées. N’aï pas iéu de mio
09. No. 5b, 2 Bourrées. Lo calhé

Chants d’Auvergne, Series 3 (Version for Soprano & Orchestra)
10. No. 1, Lo fiolairé
11. No. 2, Passo pel prat
12. No. 3, Lou boussu
13. No. 4, Brezairola
14. No. 5, Malurous qu’o uno fenno

Chants d’Auvergne, Series 4 (Version for Soprano & Orchestra)
15. No. 1, Jou l’Pount d’o Mirabel
16. No. 2, Oï ayaï
17. No. 3, Per l’èfon
18. No. 4, Tchut, tchut
19. No. 6, Lou coucut

Chants d’Auvergne, Series 5 (Version for Soprano & Orchestra)
20. No. 2, Quan z’eyro petitoune
21. No. 3, Là-haut, sur le rocher
22. No. 4, Hé ! Beyla-z-y dau fé !
23. No. 6, Tè, l’co, tè !
24. No. 7, Uno jionto postouro
25. No. 8, Lou diziou bé

That Baïlèro, a shepherd’s song from the highlands of Auvergne sung in the Occitan dialect of the area, should become a favorite with singers ranging from Victoria de los Angeles to Sarah Brightman by way of Renée Fleming and Karita Mattila, is all because of Marie-Joseph Canteloube de Malaret. As a budding composer in Paris in the 1900s, Canteloube was unable to interest himself in the various musical cliques and currents. Instead he looked for inspiration in Auvergne in central France where he was born, starting to collect the songs of the farmers and shepherds that lived in the mountainous region. But he did so as a composer rather than a musicologist, and between 1923 and 1954 he published a total of thirty Chants d’Auvergne, arranged, harmonized and sumptuously orchestrated. The result is, one might say, idealized folk music: Canteloube largely respects the melodic line of the originals, but adds instrumental introductions, interludes and postludes, and gives an important role to the woodwind section. For the present disc, Carolyn Sampson and Pascal Rophé have selected 25 of the songs – ranging from love songs and lullabies to working songs and laments. They perform them together with Tapiola Sinfonietta, bringing sparkle to Canteloube’s luxurious scores halfway between the impressionism of Debussy and the bucolic lyricism of d’Indy.

Leave a Reply