Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Pergolese: Vivaldi – Stabat Mater (FLAC)

Pergolese: Vivaldi – Stabat Mater (FLAC)

Pergolese: Vivaldi - Stabat Mater (FLAC)
Pergolese: Vivaldi - Stabat Mater (FLAC)

Performer: Concerto Italiano, Gemma Bertagnolli, Sara Mingardo
Conductor: Rinaldo Alessandrini
Composer: Giovanni Pergolesi, Antonio Vivaldi
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks+cue)
Label: Naive
Size: 242 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Stabat mater dolorosa
02. Cujus animam gementem
03. O quam tristis
04. Quæ mœrebat et dolebat
05. Quis est homo
06. Vidit suum dulcem natum
07. Eia Mater
08. Fac ut ardeat cor meum
09. Sancta Mater
10. Fac ut portem Christi mortem
11. Inflammatus et accensus
12. Quando corpus morietur

13. Stabat mater dolorosa
14. Cujus animam gementem
15. O quam tristis
16. Quis est homo
17. Quis non posset
18. Pro peccatis suæ gentis
19. Eja Mater, fons amoris
20. Fac ut ardeat cor meum
21. Amen

Amazing … Stabat Mater, Opus 111

I really enjoy this compilation and find it very different from the many other versions of Stabat Mater by Vivaldi that I’ve heard. While the packaging is a bit chic and designed to capture the eye of a more younger crowd, obviously hoping to take classical music to new places as is the struggle in this field today. This is one in a series, which I’ve listened to and can say that, as a whole they are all very worthy recordings. The sound quality is very good as far as the ability to “properly” record classical music.

So many Sound Engineers get stuck in a ‘pop music’ mode when having to face classical recordings, it seems to continually baffle them for some reason. The hope in Vivaldi, as many know, is to not focus on the soloist or what would be seen in modern music as the front-end but listen to the piece as a whole and moreso listening to the “back’ tones or undercurrent, which are complex and lost so many times by Rock/Modern sound engineers. This is the real sound which was intended by the composer, almost four hundred years ago.

This recording, overlooked nobly by Laurence Heym, delivers a very rich and rewarding Vivaldi experience. Sara Mingardo is a very talented, commanding and lush Contralto. Perhaps one of the best that I’ve heard in recent years. And no, that’s not her on the cover. The playing is very precise and seamless, wonderfully directed by Rinaldo Allessandrini. I highly recommend this offering by the National University Library in Turin.

And lastly, as a historical note, this was thought to be light years beyond anything at the time when Vivaldi wrote it, which he did very quickly, and it brought people to thier knees, … which was much appreciated by the Church.

2 thoughts on “Pergolese: Vivaldi – Stabat Mater (FLAC)”

  1. Hello, @whatever,

    Sometime we forget say Thank you!!but never we forget that for people which share all what they can , we have access to wonderful music at one wonderful place as this one. My friend @whatever, thank you so much for all the effort and time than you use for upload all this music. Thank you !! again, hope than everything gone fine with the servers in which all the files are uploaded. Have a great time!!

Leave a Reply