Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Patricia Petibon – L’amour, la mort, la mer (24/96 FLAC)

Patricia Petibon – L’amour, la mort, la mer (24/96 FLAC)

Patricia Petibon - L'amour, la mort, la mer (24/96 FLAC)

Patricia Petibon – L’amour, la mort, la mer (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Patricia Petibon, Philippe Marchand, Susan Manoff, David Venitucci, Ronan Le Bars, Olivier Py
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Sony
Release: 2020
Size: 1.25 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

01. Jean Cras – La Rencontre
02. Nicolas Bacri – All Through Eternity
03. Nicolas Bacri – A La Mar
04. Heitor Villa-Lobos – Cançao Do Marinheiro
05. Gabriel Fauré – Au Bord De L’eau, Op. 8 No. 1 (Prudhomme)
06. John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Oh My Love
07. Samuel Barber – The Crucifixion
08. Erik Satie – Idylle
09. Francis Poulenc – Sanglots
10. Yann Tiersen – Lok Gweltaz
11. Ariel Ramirez – Alfonsina Y El Mar
12. Gabriel Fauré – Clair De Lune
13. Joaquín Rodrigo – Adela
14. Enrique Granados – La Maja Dolorosa
15. Thierry Escaich – Le Chant Des Lendemains
16. Yann Tiersen – Yuzin
17. Francisco Mignone – Dona Janaina
18. Erik Satie – Méditation
19. Reynaldo Hahn – Néere
20. Woman Of Ireland
21. Robert Baksa – Heart! We Will Forget Him
22. Danny Boy

Her constant simpering and extravagance could irritate or even dominate some of listeners. What’s for certain is Patricia Petibon will not leave anyone indifferent, and this album won’t be the one to stop the divisive opinions. Dedicated to the themes of love, death and the sea, this record takes us to twenty-two different ports of call by means of different poets and musicians who have covered one or all of the three.
It’s composer/naval officer Jean Cras that leads us along the journey in the long run, where styles and time periods intersect and complement each other. Fauré stands shoulder-to-shoulder with John Lennon, Poulenc with Yann Tiersen. This welcome eclecticism contains a few real gems, like Le chant des lendemains, a melody composed by Thierry Escaich on a poem by Olivier Py who sings in a duet with Patricia Petibon.
On the piano, Susan Manoff is the smiling accompanist of this quirky singer who likes to shatter any expectations of what a musical recital should be. Alongside her, David Venitucci on the accordion, Ronan Lebars on the Uilleann pipes and Philippe Marchand aka Yula S. on percussion bring colour to the ensemble, without forgetting Petibon’s guttural cries and the marine sound effects of cormorants and waves. More real than nature.

Leave a Reply