Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Ormandi: The Glorious Sound of Christmas (FLAC)

Ormandi: The Glorious Sound of Christmas (FLAC)

Ormandi: The Glorious Sound of Christmas (FLAC)
Ormandi: The Glorious Sound of Christmas (FLAC)

Composer: Felix Mendelssohn, Henry Walford Davies, George Frederick Handel, Adolphe Adam
Orchestra: Philadelphia Orchestra
Conductor: Eugene Ormandy
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks+cue)
Label: Sony
Size: 230 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (Vocal)
02. O Little Town of Bethlehem
03. Joy To The World
04. O Holy Night (Cantique de Noël)
05. O Come, O Come, Emanuel (Vocal)
06. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
07. Ave Maria (Vocal)
08. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles)
09. The First Noël (Instrumental)
10. Deck the Halls With Boughs of Holly
11. O Sanctissima (O du fröhliche) (Instrumental)
12. The Worship of God
13. O Come, Little Children
14. Silent Night, Holy Night

They just don’t make holiday music like this anymore…: (

Eugene Ormandy (1899-1985), from the late 1930’s to 1980, guided the Philadelphia Orchestra to 3 Gold records and 2 Grammy awards. This recording, ‘The Glorious Sound of Christmas’ is a great example of the maestro’s work with this wonderful orchestra. Released in 1962…the same year I was born…this album continues to be a perennial holiday favorite. I grew up listening to this wonderful music, and it is indeed timeless. The orchestra, along with the Temple University Choir, are in fine form. It may be ‘old school’ to younger folks, but for nostalgic adults like me, THIS is what Christmas is supposed to sound like!

2 thoughts on “Ormandi: The Glorious Sound of Christmas (FLAC)”

  1. Thank you for this rare gem! i recently got other Ormandy’s works this week from you so very much looking forward to hearing this christmas recording! Thank you again for the fantastic work your doing with bringing so much to the masses! :)
    Happy Easter to you all

Leave a Reply