Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Nicola Benedetti: Homecoming. A Scottish Fantasy (24/96 FLAC)

Nicola Benedetti: Homecoming. A Scottish Fantasy (24/96 FLAC)

Nicola Benedetti: Homecoming. A Scottish Fantasy (24/96 FLAC)
Nicola Benedetti: Homecoming. A Scottish Fantasy (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Max Bruch, James Scott Skinner
Performer: Nicola Benedetti, Eamon Doorley, Phil Cunningham, Duncan Chisholm, Tony Byrne, Michael McGoldrick, James MacIntosh, Ewen Vernal, Eamon Doorley, Julie Fowlis
Orchestra: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Rory Macdonald
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Decca
Release: 2014
Size: 1.51 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Scottish Fantasy, Op.46
01. Adagio cantabile
02. Scherzo – Allegro; Adagio
03. Andante sostenuto
04. Finale (Allegro guerriero)

05. Traditional: Ae Fond Kiss
06. Traditional: Auld Lang Syne Variations
07. Traditional: My Love Is Like A Red Red Rose
08. Skinner: Hurricane Set
09. Skinner: The Dean Brig O’ Edinburgh – Banks Hornpipe
10. Aberlady
11. Traditional: Mouth Music & Tunes Set
12. The Gentle Light That Wakes Me
13. Traditional: Coisich a Rùin (Walk My Beloved)
14. Traditional: Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond
15. Ashokan Farewell
16. Traditional: Chan e caoidh Mhic Shiridh (It Is Not MacShiridh I Lament)

Nicola Benedetti’s Homecoming: A Scottish Fantasy is the violinist’s tribute to her native land, in celebration of Scotland’s Year of Homecoming 2014. Of primary interest to classical fans is Max Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy in E flat major, a large-scale Romantic concerto based on Scottish folk music, and Benedetti gives a transparent and brilliant performance that alleviates some of the work’s heavy Germanic character. Bruch’s free use of Scottish folk songs as themes, including some melodies of Robert Burns, suggested the three arrangements that immediately follow it, Ae fond kiss; My love is like a red, red, rose; and Auld Lang Syne, three of the poet’s best-known songs. The rest of the program consists of other traditional Scottish tunes, and Benedetti pours her warmest expressions into these airs. In two songs, Bothan a bh’aig Fionnghuala and Coisich a Rùin, Benedetti is joined by Julie Fowlis, whose fluent delivery in Gaelic gives the songs authentic color and texture. Even though this album has been promoted in connection with public festivities, such as the Commonwealth Games and the Ryder Cup, it is actually a personal and intimate album, thanks to Benedetti’s ingratiating playing and the poignant tone of many of the selections.

Leave a Reply