Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Pluhar: Monteverdi – Teatro d’Amore (APE)

Pluhar: Monteverdi – Teatro d’Amore (APE)

Monteverdi: Teatro d'Amore (APE)
Monteverdi: Teatro d'Amore (APE)

Performer: Nicholas Achten, João Fernandes, Philippe Jaroussky, L’Arpeggiata, Lauren Arminshaw
Conductor: Christina Pluhar
Composer: Claudio Monteverdi
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: APE (image+cue)
Label: Virgin Classics
Size: 402 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Toccata
02. Ohime, Ch’io Cado
03. L’Incoronazione Di Poppea: Pur Ti Miro
04. Damigella Tutta Bella
05. Amor (Lamento Della Ninfa, Rappresentativo)
06. Si Dolce È L’tormento
07. Sinfonie & Moresca
08. Interotte Speranze
09. Chiome D’oro (Canzonetta A Due Voci Concertata Da Duoi Violini, Chitarone O Spinetta)
10. Arnalta (Le Couronnement De Popee)
11. Hor Ch’el Ciel E La Terra (Prima Parte)
12. Tempo La Cetra
13. Ballo
14. Con che Soavita (Concertato A Una Voce E 9 Instrumenti)
15. Vago Augelletto, Che Cantado Vai (A 6 E 7 Voci Con Doi Violini E Un Contrabasso)
16. Zefiro Torna (Ciaccona)

A Joyous Recording

‘Teatro d’Amore should be in the running for “Classical Recording of the Year” What fun it must have been for the performers to create this splendid recording. I have bought three copies for friends, and continue to hear new details and nuances with each listening. Christina Pluhar uses great musicians and singers on this CD, and the ensemble playing is incredible. There is something for everyone here, but “Lamento della Ninfa” and “Zefiro torna” are incredibly beautiful, and will melt your heart. Its amazing how modern this music sounds, the “walking bass” line of Chiome d’oro, and Ohimie ch’io cado are an interesting side note, but in the end its Claudio Monteverdi who is truly a “man for all seasons”

Ray Parton

2 thoughts on “Pluhar: Monteverdi – Teatro d’Amore (APE)”

Leave a Reply