Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Michael Gielen Edition » Michael Gielen Edition Volume 7: 1961-2006 (FLAC)

Michael Gielen Edition Volume 7: 1961-2006 (FLAC)

Michael Gielen Edition Volume 7: 1961-2006 (FLAC)
Michael Gielen Edition Volume 7: 1961-2006 (FLAC)

Composer: Ferruccio Busoni, Claude Achille Debussy, Paul Hindemith, Charles Ives, Leoš Janáček, Colin McPhee, Goffredo Petrassi, Giacomo Puccini, Maurice Ravel, Max Reger, Carl Ruggles, Franz Schreker, Alexander Scriabin, Eduard Steuermann, Richard Strauss, Edgard Varèse, Richard Wagner, Alexander von Zemlinsky
Performer: Ellen Shade, Thomas Moser, Günter Reich, Márta Szirmay, Imrich Szabó, Richard Anlauf, Claude Helffer, Peter Roggenkamp, Catherine Gayer, Hanna Aurbacher, Brigitte Messthaler, Steven De Groote, Cornelia Kallisch, Christiane Boesiger, Elizabeth Whitehouse, Margit Neubauer, Waltraud Meier, Slovak Philharmonic Chorus, SWR Vokalensemble, Chor der Oper Frankfurt, Europe Choir Academy
Orchestra: SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg, Saarbrücken Radio Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Michael Gielen
Number of Discs: 8
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: SWR Music
Catalogue: SWR19061CD
Release: 2018
Size: 2.48 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Janáček: Glagolitic Mass
01. I. Úvod
02. II. Gospodi pomiluj
03. III. Slava
04. IV. Věruju
05. V. Svet
06. VI. Agnecě Božij
07. VII. Varhany solo
08. VIII. Intrada

Janáček: Taras Bulba
09. I. Smrt Andrijova
10. II. Smrt Ostapova
11. III. Proroctví a smrt Tarase Bulby

12. Zemlinsky: Psalm 23, Op. 14 ‘Der gute Hirt’

CD 02
01. Ruggles: Sun-treader
02. Ives: Central Park in the Dark
03. Ives: General William Booth Enters into Heaven

McPhee: Tabuh-Tabuhan (Live)
04. I. Ostinatos
05. II. Nocturne
06. III. Finale

07. Ives: The Unanswered Question
08. Varèse: Arcana
09. Steuermann: Variations for Orchestra

CD 03
Debussy: Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien (Live)
01. Act I “La cour de lys”
02. Act II “La chambre magique”: No. 1, Prélude. Très modéré – No. 3, Qui pleure mon enfant si doux
03. Act III “Le concile des faux dieux”: No. 4, Ah! Tu pleures le bien-aimé! – No. 7, Il est mort, le bel Adonis!
04. Act IV “Le laurier blessé”: No. 1, Prélude. Sombre et lent – No. 2, Très modéré
06. Act V “Le paradis”

Debussy: Trois Nocturnes (Live)
06. No. 1, Nuages
07. No. 2, Fêtes
08. No. 3, Sirènes

CD 04
01. Busoni: Berceuse élégiaque, Op. 42
02. Busoni: Nocturne Symphonique, Op. 43

Busoni: Two Studies for ‘Doktor Faust, Op. 51 (Sarabande and Cortège)
03. I. Sarabande
04. II. Cortège

Reger: Piano Concerto in F minor, Op. 114
05. I. Allegro moderato
06. II. Largo con gran espressione
07. III. Allegretto con spirito

CD 05
01. Schreker: Die Gezeichneten: Vorspiel zu einem Drama

Hindemith: Symphony ‘Mathis der Maler’
02. I. Engelkonzert
03. II. Grablegung
04. III. Versuchung des heiligen Antonius

Petrassi: Concerto No. 1 for Orchestra
05. I. Allegro
06 .II. Adagio
07. III. Tempo di marcia

CD 06
Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier
01. Mir ist die Ehre widerfahren

Puccini: Madama Butterfly
02. Un bel dì, vedremo
03. Scuoti quella fronda di ciliegio – Act II Finale

Wagner: Wesendonck-Lieder
04. No. 1, Der Engel
05. No. 5, Träume

Strauss: Fünf Lieder, Op. 41
06. No. 1, Wiegenlied (Version for Soprano & Orchestra)

07. Strauss: Tod und Verklärung, Op. 24

CD 07
Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé
01. Pt. 1: No. 1, Introduction et danse religieuse
02. Pt. 1: No. 2, Danse générale
03. Pt. 1: No. 3, Danse grotesque de Dorcon
04. Pt. 1: No. 4, Danse légère et gracieuse de Daphnis
05. Pt. 1: No. 5, Danse de Lycénion
06. Pt. 1: No. 6, Danse lente et mystérieuse des nymphes
07. Pt. 2: No. 7, Introduction
08. Pt. 2: No. 8, Danse guerrière
09. Pt. 2: No. 9, Danse suppliante de Chloé
10. Pt. 3: No. 10, Lever du jour
11. Pt. 3: No. 11, Pantomime
12. Pt. 3: No. 12, Danse générale

Ravel: Miroirs, M. 43 (Version for Orchestra)
13. No. 3, Une barque sur l’océan
14. No. 4, Alborada del gracioso

CD 08
Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales (Live)
01. No. 1, Modéré
02. No. 2, Assez lent
03. No. 3, Modéré
04. No. 4, Assez animé
05. No. 5, Presque lent
06. No. 6, Assez vif
07. No. 7, Moins vif
08. No. 8, Épilogue

Scriabin: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 43 ‘The Divine Poem’
09. I. Luttes
10. II. Voluptés
11. III. Jeu divin

12. Ravel: La Valse

This seventh installment of the Michael Gielen EDITION contains the most first releases so far. The magnificent set presents works from the late romantic and early modern periods, including opera scenes. It also contains the oldest recording of the whole edition: Goffredo Petrassi’s Concerto per orchestra No. 1 (January 1961, Baden-Baden) and nearly the whole programme of the concert from June 1975 dedicated entirely to American music. Austrian conductor Michael Gielen was a champion of contemporary music both in the opera and concert repertoires. He conducted many premieres during his career. He has held appointments at the Royal Swedish Opera, the Netherlands Opera, the Frankfurt Opera, the Belgian National Orchestra, the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, and the Southwest German Radio Symphony Orchestra, which he has remained closely associated with since the end of his appointment in 1999.

Leave a Reply