Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Martinon: Debussy, Ravel – Orchestral Works (8 CD box set, FLAC)

Martinon: Debussy, Ravel – Orchestral Works (8 CD box set, FLAC)

Martinon: Debussy, Ravel - Orchestral Works (8 CD box set, FLAC)
Martinon: Debussy, Ravel – Orchestral Works (8 CD box set, FLAC)

Composer: Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel
Conductor: Jean Martinon
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 8 CD box set
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: EMI Classics
Size: 2.34 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Claude Debussy
La Mer
01. De l’aube a midi sur la mer
02. Jeux de vagues
03. Dialogue du vent et de la mer

Trois Nocturnes
04. Nuages
05. Fetes
06. Sirenes

07. Prelude a l’apres-midi d’un faune

08. Marche ecossaise

09. Berceuse heroique

Musiques pour Le Roi Lear
10. Fanfare
11. Le Sommeil de Lear

CD 02
Claude Debussy
01. Jeux

02. Gigues
03. Iberia a) Par les rues et par les chemins
04. Iberia b) Iberia – Les parfums de la nuit
05. Iberia c) Iberia – Le matin d’un jour de fete
06. Rondes de Printemps

07. 1st part
08. 2nd part

CD 03
Claude Debussy
Children’s Corner Suite
01. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum
02. Jimbo’s Lullaby
03. Serenade for the doll
04. The snow is dancing
05. The little shepherd
06. Golliwog’s cakewalk

Petite Suite
07. En Bateau
08. Cortиge
09. Menuet
10. Ballet

Danse sacre & Danse profane
11. Danse sacre
12. Danse profane

La Boоte а joujoux
13. Le magasin de jouets
14. Le champs de bataille
15. La bergerie а vendre
16. Aprиs fortune faite

CD 04
Claude Debussy
Fantaisie pour Piano & Orchestre
01. Andante-allegro
02. Lento e molto espressivo
03. Allegro-molto

04. La plus que lente

05. Premiere Rapsodie pour Orchestre avec Clarinette principale

06. Rapsodie pour Orchestre et Saxophone solo

07. Khamma (Legende danse)

08. Danse (Tarantelle styrienne)

CD 05
Maurice Ravel
01. Bolero

02. Une Barque sur l’ocean (Miroirs – No.3)

Ma Mere l’Oye
03. I Prelude (Tres lent)
04. II Premier tableau – Danse du Rouet et scene
05. III Deuxieme tableau – Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant
06. IV Interlude
07. V Troisieme tableau: Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bкte
08. VI Interlude
09. VII Quatrieme tableau – Petit Poucet
10. VIII Interlude
11. IX Cinquieme tableau – Laideronnette, Imperatrice des Pagodes
12. X Interlude
13. XI Sixieme tableau – Le jardin ferique

14. Alborada del gracioso (Miroirs – No.4)

Rapsodie espagnole
15. I Prelude а la nuit
16. II Malagueсa
17. III Habanera
18. IV Feria

CD 06
Maurice Ravel
01. Sheherazade – Ouverture de feerie

02. La Valse

Le Tombeau de Couperin
03. Prelude
04. Forlane
05. Menuet
06. Regaudon

07. Menuet antique

08. Pavane pour une Infante defunte

Valses nobles et sentimentales
09. Modere
10. Assez lent
11. Modere
12. Assez anime
13. Presque lent
14. Assez vif
15. Moin vif
16. Epilogue. lent

CD 07
Maurice Ravel
Daphnis et Chloe
Part I
01. I Introduction
02. II Danse Religieuse
03. III Scene
04. IV Danse generale
05. V Scene
06. VI Danse grotesque de Dorcon
07. VII Danse legere et gracieuse de Daphins
08. VIII Scene
09. IX Nocturne
10. X Danse lente et mysterieuse de Nymphes
11. XI Interlude

Part II
12. I Introduction
13. II Danses Guerrieres et diverses
14. III Danse supliante de Chloe

Part III
15. I Introduction
16. II Lever du jour
17. III Pantomime
18. IV Danse general- Bacchanale

CD 08
Maurice Ravel
Concerto for the left hand
01. Lento
02. Piu lento
03. Allegro

Piano Concerto in G major
04. Allegramente
05. Adagio assai
06. Presto

07. Tzigane – Lento, quasi cadenza – Moderato

Aldo Ciccolini, piano
Itzhak Perlman, violin
Jean-Marie Loneix, saxophone
Guy Dangain, clarinet
Cheurs de l’Ortf
Orchestre National de l’Ortf
Orchestre de Paris
Conductor: Jean Martinon

Outstanding performances at any price

This boxed set provides a comprehensive collection of the orchestral works of both Debussy and Ravel. Jean Martinon conducts the Orchestre National de l’ORTF in the Debussy and the Orchestre de Paris in the Ravel pieces. The sound is stunning, and the performances are extraordinarily engaging. I have other sets of music by these composers (Simon and the Philharmonia Orchestra for the Debussy) Michal Tilson Thomas and the LSO as well as Boulez and the Berlin Philharmonic for some of the Ravel pieces (Boulez and the NY Phil for Daphnis and Chloe) but these other sets do not contain all the music in the 8 CDs by Martinon and his orchestras. I agree with the other reviewers who find the Debussy especially compelling. I am listening to La Mer now, and the recording captures the performance perfectly, clearly separating the horns, strings and woodwinds and providing a great balance. This is a very dramatic reading of La Mer! However, I find the Ravel performances equally inspired. The Daphnis and Chloe performance is tremendously exciting, and the ballet Ma Mere l’Oye is exquisite. When I decided to buy this set, I was looking for performances that would give me new insight into familiar works and also introduce me to some musical treats like Debussy’s La Boite a Joujoux. I was not disappointed. This set is not just a bargain, it’s a real treasure!

Magnificent Box Set! Martinon Does A Brilliant Job!

Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel have a deep kinship and owe much to each other. Both men admired each other deeply. This kind of influence on each other is evident in their work. I’m not sure if the “impressionist” tag suits these two composers. Their style of composing is very textural, but I think the word impressionist fails to demonstrate what these two men were capable of. Debussy and Ravel were looked at as radicals, because they both chose a different avenue to explore music. These two composers wrote some of the most beautiful melodies I’ve ever heard in music. If their music doesn’t touch your heart, then I find it hard to believe that you even have one. Listen closely to their work and each passing listen will reveal the true beauty of music. Classical doesn’t have to be in-your-face like the work of Shostakovich or Prokofiev to make an impact. Their music impacts and touches you in a completely different way, but there are plenty of fireworks and raw passion in this music to appeal to just about any fan of classical.

This 8-disc box collects in my opinion some of the finest Debussy and Ravel I’ve ever heard. Conductor Jean Martinon knows this music. He does an admirable job with both of these composers works. Everything in this set is fantastic. I have yet to hear something I don’t like. Yes folks these performances are just that incredible.

As you can see from the other reviews, this is a collection you do not want to miss out on. If you love both of these composers, then you need to hear them conducted by Martinon. This is one of the finest classical box sets I’ve owned yet.

7 thoughts on “Martinon: Debussy, Ravel – Orchestral Works (8 CD box set, FLAC)”

Leave a Reply