Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Marangoni: Castelnuovo-Tedesco – Evangelion (24/96 FLAC)

Marangoni: Castelnuovo-Tedesco – Evangelion (24/96 FLAC)

Marangoni: Castelnuovo-Tedesco - Evangelion (24/96 FLAC)
Marangoni: Castelnuovo-Tedesco – Evangelion (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco
Performer: Alessandro Marangoni
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Size: 1.01 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Mario (1895-1968) :
Part I, “The Infancy”
01. No. 1. The Annunciation
02. No. 2. The Nativity
03. No. 3. The Three Kings
04. No. 4. The Massacre of the Innocents
05. No. 5. The Flight into Egypt
06. No. 6. Child Jesus and the Doctors

Part II, “The Life”
07. No. 7. The Baptism on the Jordan
08. No. 8. The Dance of Salome
09. No. 9. By the Sea of Galilee
10. No. 10. Jesus Walking on the Waves
11. No. 11. The Woman of Samaria
12. No. 12. The Resurrection of Lazarus
13. No. 13. Mary Magdalene
14. No. 14. Jesus and the Money Changers

Part III, “The Words”
15. No. 15. The Sermon on the Mount
16. No. 16. Pater noster (Our Father who art in Heaven)
17. No. 17. Sinite parvulos venire ad me (Jesus and the Little children)
18. No. 18. Invective (Woe unto you, Scribes and Pharisees, Hypocrites)
19. No. 19. The Wise Virgins and the Foolish Virgins
20. No. 20. The Lost Sheep
21. No. 21. The Return of the Prodigal Son

Part IV, “The Passion”
22. No. 22. Hosanna (The Entrance into Jerusalem)
23. No. 23. The Last Supper
24. No. 24. Gethsemane (The Prayer in the Garden)
25. No. 25. Crucifige! (Before Pontius Pilate)
26. No. 26. Golgotha (On the Way to Calvary)
27. No. 27. The Last Words
28. No. 28. The Resurrection

Alessandro Marangoni (piano)
Recorded: 9-10 December 2013
Recording Venue: Baroque Hall, SMC Records, Ivrea, Italy

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco was Jewish by culture but regularly composed on Biblical themes. A meditation on stories from the New Testament in music of tender simplicity, moving lyricism and potent drama, the epic but rarely-heard Evangélion starts with The Annunciation and concludes with The Last Words and The Resurrection. Composed in 1947 soon after the death of the composers father, the work was possibly conceived after a visit to the Acolman Convent in Mexico. This is its first complete recording. Alessandro Marangoni can also be heard in Castelnuovo-Tedescos two Piano Concertos [8.572823], described as a delectable treat by Gramophone.

Leave a Reply