Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Maazel: Berg – Lulu (3 CD box set, FLAC)

Maazel: Berg – Lulu (3 CD box set, FLAC)

Maazel: Berg - Lulu (3 CD box set, FLAC)
Maazel: Berg – Lulu (3 CD box set, FLAC)

Composer: Alban Berg
Performer: Julia Migenes, Theo Adam, Ryszard Karczykowski, Brigitte Fassbaender
Orchestra: Vienna State Opera Orchestra
Conductor: Lorin Maazel
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 3 CD box set
Format: FLAC (image+cue)
Label: RCA
Size: 708 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
01. Prologue: ‘Hereinspaziert in die Menagerie’

Act One
02. Scene 1: ‘Darf ich eintrete?’ (Alwa, Dr. Schon, Lulu)
03. Scene 1: ‘Gnadige Frau… Frau Madizinalrat…’ (Lulu)
04. Scene 1: ‘Machen Sie auf!’ (Lulu)
05. Scene 1: ‘Nicht wieder zur Besinnung gekomen?’ (Lulu)
06. Scene 1: ‘Ich mochte tauschen mit dir, du Toter!’
07. Scene 1: Verwandlungsmusik – Transitional Music
08. Scene 2: ‘Eva?’ – Befehlen?’ (Lulu)
09. Scene 2: ‘Ich finde, du siehst heute reizend aus’ (Lulu)
10. Scene 2: ‘Den hab ich mir auch ganz anders vorgestellt’ (Lulu, Schigolch)
11. Scene 2: ‘Was tut denn ihr Vater da?’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon)
12. Scene 2: ‘Du hast eine halbe Million geheiratet’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon)
13. Scene 2: Verwandlungsmusik – Transitional Music
14. Scene 3: ‘Seit Ich fur die Buhne arbeite’ (Alwa, Lulu)
15. Scene 3: ‘Ich hatte bei Herrn Dr. Schon das Vergnugen’ (Alwa)
16. Scene 3: ‘Das hattest du dir besser erspart’ (Alwa, Lulu, Dr. Schon)
17. Scene 3: ‘Wie kannst du die Szene gegen mich ausspielen?’ (Dr. Schon, Lulu)

CD 02
Act Two
01. Scene 1: ‘Sie glauben nicht, wie ich mich darauf freue’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon)
02. Scene 1: Konntest du dich fur heute nachmittag nicht freimachen?’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon)
03. Scene 1: ‘Gott sei dank, dass wir endlich zuhause sind’ (Schigolch, Lulu)
04. Scene 1: ‘Die Matinee wird, wie ich mir denke…’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon, Alwa)
05. Scene 1: ‘Wo ist denn der hin?’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon, Grafin Geschwitz)
06. Scene 1: ‘Wenn sich die Menschen um meinetwillen…’ (Lulu, Dr. Schon, Alwa, Grafin Geschwitz)
07. Scene 1: Verwandlungsmusik – Transitional Music
08. Scene 2: ‘Er lasst auf sich warten’ (Alwa, Schigolch, Grafin Geschwitz)
09. Scene 2: ‘Sie wollten der verruckten Rakete noch Geld geben?’ (Alwa)
10. Scene 2: ‘Hu, kleine Lulu’ (Lulu, Alwa, Schigolch)
11. Scene 2: ‘O Freiheit! Herrgott im Himmel!’ (Lulu, Alwa)
12. Scene 2: ‘Jetzt liegt sie da druben’ (Lulu, Alwa)

CD 03
Act Three
01. Scene 1: ‘Meine Herren und Damen’
02. Scene 1: ‘Sag es nur gleich heraus’ (Lulu)
03. Scene 1: ‘Brillant, es geht brillant’ (Alwa)
04. Scene 1: ‘Aber warum verfolgst du denn die Geschwitz’ (Lulu)
05. Scene 1: ‘Ich brauche namlich notwendig Geld’ (Schigold, Lulu)
06. Scene 1: ‘Mein liebes Herz’ (Grafin Geschwitz, Lulu)
07. Scene 1: ‘Wollen Sie wohl diese Aktie akzeptieren’
08. Scene 1: Verwandlungsmusik – Transitional Music
09. Scene 2: ‘Der Regen trommelt’ (Alwa, Schigolch)
10. Scene 2: ‘Wenn ich dir ungelegen komme’ (Grafin Geschwitz, Schigold, Lulu, Alwa)
11. Scene 2: ‘Komm herein mein Schatz’ (Lulu, Alwa, Schigolch, Grafin Geschwitz)
12. Scene 2: ‘Nein, wenn sie mich heute’ (Grafin Geschwitz, Lulu)

Lush Mahlerian 3-Act LULU straight from Vienna, woefully ignored.

There are now a number of competitors to the epochal 1979 Boulez/Stratas recording of the complete three-act work, some of which provide formidable rivals (the English version on Chandos, the SUPERB 2001 Met recording by Levine with Christine Shaefer, available at a reasonable price from the Met Store, though hawked sometime at exorbitant rates by Amazon sellers). This one, recorded in 1983 by the Vienna State Opera live with Maazel at the helm is to me the best rival to the Boulez recording, because of its utter contrast.Where Boulez had his orchestra negotiating the score with the rapid pace of a striking cobra, with every detail transparent, Maazel gives us a more relaxed, voluptuous Viennese Lulu, which by cultivating emotional affect, is no less tragic or intense. Julia Migenes, by now a veteran in this role, sounds less taxed and more human than Stratas, and is supported by superb singing actors in Theo Adam as Dr Schon and Fassbaender as the Countess (as good as it gets in this pivotal part). I fail to understand why this superbly Mahlerian Lulu is little reviewed out there, and when one pops up, it’s dismissive. Sound is excellent live quality, no details are lost, stage and audience noise is not a distraction. I got this cheap soon after it appeared, if you’re a Luluphile I would snap it up before it becomes prohibitively expensive.

3 thoughts on “Maazel: Berg – Lulu (3 CD box set, FLAC)”

Leave a Reply