Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » DG 2 CD » Levine: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Levine: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Levine: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)
Levine: Haydn - Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)

Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn
Performer: Rundfunkchor Stockholm, Stockholmer Kammerchor
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor:James Levine
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks+cue)
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Size: 473 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Gabriel – Kathleen Battle
Uriel – Gösta Winbergh
Raphael – Kurt Moll
Eva – Kathleen Battle
Adam – Kurt Moll

CD 1
01. Einleitung: Die Vorstellung des Chaos
02. Arie mit Chor: Nun schwanden vor dem heiligen Strahle
03. Rezitativ: Und Gott machte das Firmament
04. Chor mit Sopransolo: Mit Staunen sieht das Wunderwerkt
05. Rezitativ: Und Gott sprach: Es sammle sich das Wasser
06. Arie: Rollend in schäumenden Wellen
07. Rezitativ: Und Gott sprach: Es bringe die Erde Gras hervor
08. Arie: Nun beut die Flur das frische Grün
09. Rezitativ: Und die himmlischen Herrscharen verkündigten
10. Chor: Stimmt die Saiten
11. Rezitativ: Und Gott sprach: Es sein Lichter an der Feste des Himmels
12. Rezitativ: In vollem Glanze steiget jetzt
13. Chor mit Soli: Die Himmel erzählen die Ehre Gottes
14. Rezitativ: Und Gott sprach: Es bringe das Wasser in der Fülle hervor
15. Arie: Auf starkem Fittiche schwingt sich der Adler stolz
16. Rezitativ: Und Gott schuf große Walfische
17. Rezitativ: Und die Engel rührten ihr unsterblichen Harfen
18. Terzett: In holder Anmut stehn
19. Chor mit Soli: Der Herr ist groß in seiner Macht

CD 2
01. Rezitativ: Und Gott sprach: Es bringe die Erde hervor lebend Geschöpfe
02. Rezitativ / “Gleich öffnet sich der Erde Schoß”
03. Arie: Nun scheint in vollem Glanze der Himmel
04. Rezitativ “Und Gott schuf den Menschen”
05. Arie “Mit Würd’ und Hoheit angetan”
06. Rezitativ “Und Gott sah jedes Ding”
07. Chor: Vollendet ist das große Werk
08. Terzett: “Zu Dir, o Herr, blickt alles auf”
09. Chor: Vollendet ist das große Werk
10. Orchestereinleitung und Rezitativ. Aus Rosenwolken bricht
11. Duett mit Chor: Von deiner Güt,o Herr und Gott/ Gesegnet sei des Herrn Macht
12. Rezitativ: “Nun ist die erste Pflicht erfüllt”
13. Duett “Holde Gattin, dir zur Seite”
14. Rezitativ: O glückliches Paar, und glücklich immerfort
15. Schlußchor mit Soli: Singt dem Herren alle Stimmen

Big-boned Haydn – grand and thrilling with superb soloists

I give this five stars on the understanding that this rating is for those who like traditional performance-style: a big, well-upholstered sound from the orchestra and spacious tempi from Levine. The opening depiction of Chaos must be by far the slowest on record but it does effectively convey the idea of vast swirling masses of gaseous clouds emerging from blackness and condensing into matter. The BPO plays wonderfully with smooth legato when necessary and fabulous string tone. The rest of this recording is by no means as deliberate as the Introduction; Levine generates plenty of vim and attack in the choral sections and the supreme delicacy of Battle’s crystalline soprano-leggiero counteracts any suggestion of heaviness. Certainly, for example, the Terzett and ensuing choral passage at the centre of Part 2 are light, well-sprung and not the least “gluey”.

Kurt Moll repeats the unqualified success of the Raphael which he so beautifully recorded for Dorati a good few years earlier. The voice is marginally less rich and flexible here but still superior to any other exponent of the role in its burnished teak tone, sonorous low Ds and subtle expressiveness with van Swieten’s picturesque text. Winbergh sings attractively if without Wunderlich’s plangency, being rather more four-square in his utterance but he makes lovely sounds.

The combination of Battle and Moll make this for me an unmissable issue but I also applaud Levine in repertoire not normally associated with him. This version chooses to stick with three singers rather than five, the soprano and bass doubling up on the roles of Gabriel and Eva, and Raphael and Adam, respectively. Moll lightens his manner for Adam and makes a surprisingly apt match for Battle’s sweet Eva.

I still treasure recordings by Karajan (unmatchable soloists and a grand manner), Dorati (the fleetest and most charming, with Moll in his young prime) and Bernstein (so characterful, acid soprano apart) but this account from 1987 recorded in finest sound in the Jesus-Christus-Kirche takes its place alongside those fine versions.

2 thoughts on “Levine: Haydn – Die Schöpfung (2 CD, FLAC)”

Leave a Reply