Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Naxos Laureate Series » Laureate Series: Johan Smith (24/96 FLAC)

Laureate Series: Johan Smith (24/96 FLAC)

Laureate Series: Johan Smith (24/96 FLAC)
Laureate Series: Johan Smith (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Benjamin Britten, Johann Kaspar Mertz, Manuel Maria Ponce, Josquin Schwizgebel
Performer: Johan Smith
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Naxos
Release: 2020
Size: 1.01 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Bach: Toccata in E minor, BWV914
01. Toccata
02. Un poco allegro
03. Adagio
04. Fuga. Allegro

05. Ponce: Diferencias sobre la folia de Espana y fuga
06. Mertz: Concertino
07. Britten: Nocturnal after John Dowland, Op. 70

Schwizgebel: Les Reflets de l’Obscurité (Reflections from the Darkness): III. Sables Stellaires (Stellar Sands)
08. III. Sables stellaires

ohan Smith, 2019 winner of the prestigious Guitar Foundation of America Competition, presents his dream programme in this recital. Bach’s Toccata for harpsichord ‘borders on the unplayable’ for the guitar, especially in its final double fugue, while Manuel Ponce’s Variations on La folía de España and Fugue is one of the most challenging peaks of the repertoire. Mertz’s celebrated virtuoso Concertino is followed by Britten’s Nocturnal after John Dowland, renowned for its blend of Elizabethan melancholy and contemporary strangeness. The recital concludes with a world premiere, the evocative Sables stellaires by Josquin Schwizgebel, dedicated to Johan Smith

Leave a Reply