Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Kuhnau – Complete Sacred Works vol.6 (FLAC)

Kuhnau – Complete Sacred Works vol.6 (FLAC)

Kuhnau - Complete Sacred Works vol.6 (FLAC)
Kuhnau – Complete Sacred Works vol.6 (FLAC)

Composer: Johann Kuhnau
Performer: David Erler, Friedemann Klos, Opella Musica, Camerata Lipsiensis, Heidi Maria Taubert, Tobias Hunger, Isabel Schicketanz
Conductor: Gregor Meyer
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: CPO
Catalogue: 555305-2
Release: 2021
Size: 262 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Ihr Himmel, jubiliert von oben
01. No. 1, Ihr Himmel, jubiliert von oben
02. No. 2, Es ist vollbracht
03. No. 3, Indessen bleibt die Seele
04. No. 4, Jesu, wenn ich dich nur habe
05. No. 5, Gib, Jesu, dass dein Wille mag geschehen

06. Bone Jesu, care Jesu
07. Ich freue mich im Herrn

Laudate pueri Dominum
08. No. 1, Sonata. Laudate pueri Dominum
09. No. 2, Sit nomen Domini benedictum
10. No. 3, A solis ortu usque ad occasum
11. No. 4, Excelsus super omnes gentes Dominus
12. No. 5, Quis sicut Dominus Deus noster
13. No. 6, Alleluja

Lobet, Ihr Himmel, den Herrn
14. No. 1, Lobet, ihr Himmel, den Herrn
15. No. 2, Was höret man vor ein so großes Lustgeschrei
16. No. 3, Gott fahret auf mit Jauchzen
17. No. 4, Ist Christus aufgefahren
18. No. 5, Leide dich als ein guter Streiter Jesu Christi
19. No. 6, Auf, auf zum Streit
20. No. 7, Siegesfürste, steh mir bei
21. No. 8, Ritornello
22. No. 9, Seht her, wie mutig ich gekrieget
23. No. 10, Kommt, ihr Engel, nehmt die Seele
24. No. 11, Ach! Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein

Vol. 6 of this complete recording presents what might be termed the opposite ends of the broad spectrum covered by Kuhnau’s music, both in formal matters and in chronological respects.

On the one hand, in Ihr Himmel jubiliert von oben and Lobet, ihr Himmel, den Herrn we have two magnificent Ascension cantatas for large ensembles from Kuhnau’s late period as St. Thomas music director. On the other hand, Bone Jesu, care Jesu and Laudate pueri Dominum, works of Italian stamp scored for chamber ensemble from Kuhnau’s time as a St. Thomas organist with a wide range of activities, offer exemplary illustrations of the sacred concerto of the late seventeenth century. Ich freue mich im Herrn for four concertists, choir, and strings occupies a middle position between these works and offers an interesting mixture consisting of the concerto-aria-cantata popular in the late seventeenth century and the rondo form and is borne musically by the affection of joy.

Once again the Opella Musica ensemble of soloists founded by Gregor Meyer in 2011 and the historically oriented Camerata Lipsiensis orchestra interpret the cantatas on the basis of the recently published critical musicological edition.

Leave a Reply