Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/44kHz » Jurowski: Strauss – Eine Alpensinfonie op.64 (24/44 FLAC)

Jurowski: Strauss – Eine Alpensinfonie op.64 (24/44 FLAC)

Jurowski: Strauss - Eine Alpensinfonie op.64 (24/44 FLAC)
Jurowski: Strauss – Eine Alpensinfonie op.64 (24/44 FLAC)

Composer: Richard Strauss
Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra
Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: LPO
Size: 972 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Strauss, R: Eine Alpensinfonie (An Alpine Symphony)
01. Nacht (Night)
02. Sonnenaufgang (Sunrise)
03. Der Anstieg (The Ascent)
04. Eintritt in den Wald (Entry into the Wood)
05. Wanderung neben dem Bache (Wandering by the Stream)
06. Am Wasserfall (At the Waterfall)
07. Erscheinung (Apparition)
08. Auf blumigen Wiesen (On Flowering Meadows)
09. Auf der Alm (On the Alpine Pasture)
10. Durch Dickicht und Gestrüppp auf Irrwegen (Straying through Thicket and Undergrowth)
11. Auf dem Gletscher (On the Glacier)
12. Gefahrvolle Augenblicke (Dangerous Moments)
13. Auf dem Gipfel (On the Summit)
14. Vision (View)
15. Nebel steigen auf (Mists Rise)
16. Die Sonne verdüstert sich allmählich (The Sun Gradually Darkens)
17. Elegie (Elegy)
18. Stille vor dem Sturm (Calm Before the Storm)
19. Gewitter und Sturm, Abstieg (Thunder and Storm, Descent)
20. Sonnenuntergang (Sunset)
21. Ausklang (Final Sounds)
22. Nacht (Night)

CD 02
23. Strauss, R: Dance of the Seven Veils (Salome)

Strauss, R: Die Frau ohne Schatten (The Woman without a Shadow) – Orchestral excerpts
24. Introduction, Earth Flight (Act 1 scene 1)
25. Finale Act 1
26. Falcon Scene (Act 2 scene 2)
27. Interlude (Act 2 scenes 3 to 4)
28. Scene in Front of the Temple (Act 3 scenes 2 to 3)
29. Scene in Front of the Emperor’s Statue (Act 3 scene 3)0
30. The Couples Rejoice (Act 3 scenes 3 to 4)
31. Finale Act 3

London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski

‘This music is absolutely ideally placed to Jurowski’s strengths: his precision and ability to inspire playing of the greatest delicacy, pointing, accuracy and warmth is exactly what’s called for in this score’, September 2012. This release marks the 29th on the LPO label conducted by Vladimir Jurowski, and is the first Jurowski-conducted Richard Strauss release to date. The performances of the three works on this release were also critically well received, with the soloists within the Orchestra noted for their ‘poise’ and ‘exquisite handling’ of Die Frau ohne Schatten and Jurowski’s ‘perfect blending of rich textures’ in Eine Alpensinfonie (The Arts Desk). Vladimir Jurowski has a strong affinity with Die Frau ohne Schatten (The Woman Without a Shadow), and chose to conduct a selection of orchestral highlights from the opera rather than the composer’s own published Fantasie. He went on to conduct the complete opera at the Metropolitan Opera in 2013. ‘If the evening can boast a hero, the honour must go to Vladimir Jurowski, who conducts with abiding passion, sensitivity and propulsion.’ (The Financial Times). The Dance of the Seven Veils was performed as part of the opening concert of the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s critically acclaimed The Rest is Noise festival of music which shaped the twentieth century. ‘Jurowski and the LPO set the scene with an outstandingly delicate performance of the Dance of the Seven Veils’ (The Financial Times). These discs join the previously released recordings of Richard Strauss’s Don Juan and Ein Heldenleben, conducted by Bernard Haitink (LPO-0079); performances which were highly praised at the time. Gramophone magazine said ‘[it] gives any account in the catalogue a run for its money in terms of sheer élan, and bristles with energy’.

Leave a Reply