Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Itamar Zorman, Ieva Jokubaviciute, Kwan Yi – Violin Odyssey (24/96 FLAC)

Itamar Zorman, Ieva Jokubaviciute, Kwan Yi – Violin Odyssey (24/96 FLAC)

Itamar Zorman, Ieva Jokubaviciute, Kwan Yi - Violin Odyssey (24/96 FLAC)
Itamar Zorman, Ieva Jokubaviciute, Kwan Yi – Violin Odyssey (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Joseph Achron, Grazyna Bacewicz, Gareth Farr, Gao Ping, Dora Pejačević, Silvestre Revueltas, Erwin Schulhoff, William Grant Still, Moshe Zorman
Performer: Itamar Zorman, Ieva Jokubaviciute, Kwan Yi, Julia Thompson
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: First Hand
Catalogue: FHR119
Release: 2022
Size: 1.32 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Bacewicz: Oberek No. 1
02. Zorman: Wanderings

Achron: Children’s Suite, Op. 57
03. No. 2, Jumping with Tongue Out
04. No. 11, Sleep, My Puppy
05. No. 12, Birdies
06. No. 10, March of Toys
07. No. 4, Mamma, Tell a Fairy Tale
08. No. 8, The Top
09. No. 18, The Caravan
10. No. 20, Parade with Presents

Pejačević: Violin Sonata in B flat minor ‘Slavic’, Op. 43
11. I. Allegro con anima
12. II. Adagio
13. III. Allegro molto vivace

14. Revueltas: El afilador
15. Revueltas: Tierra p’a las macetas
16. Osman: Afromood
17. Ping: Questioning the Mountain
18. Farr: Wakatipu

Schulhoff: Sonata for Violin & Piano No. 2
19. I. Allegro impetuoso
20. II. Andante
21. III. Burlesca
22. IV. Finale

Still: Three Visions
23. II. Summerland (Version for Violin & Piano)

The worldwide lockdowns of 2020/21 proved highly fruitful for US-based violinist Itamar Zorman in his quest to seek out new repertoire. A virtual voyage around the world yielded a discovery of many lesser known and rarely played works for violin, which he presented in 2020 as a livestreamed video series entitled Hidden Gems. From this musical treasure trove he selected 10 pieces for his new album Violin Odyssey, produced by Grammy Award-winning Judith Sherman.

The far-reaching geographical origins of the repertoire, from New Zealand to the United States by way of Sudan, China, Russia, Poland, Croatia, Czech Republic, Israel and Mexico, reveal a fascinating variety of styles and cultural diversity in these seldom heard works. Two larger works set the framework of the album: Slavonic Sonata (1917) written by Croatian noblewoman Dora Pejacevic and the Second Sonata for Violin and Piano (1927) by Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff. While sharing Eastern European flavour, the two sonatas, written only ten years apart, are worlds apart stylistically. These particularly dramatic works are complemented by a programme of shorter pieces with evocative titles that suggest little adventures and encounters on a traveller’s journey.

Leave a Reply