Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Mercury Living Presence » Hanson: The Composer and His Orchestra (2 CD, APE)

Hanson: The Composer and His Orchestra (2 CD, APE)

Hanson: The Composer and His Orchestra (2 CD, APE)
Hanson: The Composer and His Orchestra (2 CD, APE)

Composer: Howard Hanson
Orchestra: Eastman-Rochester Orchestra
Conductor: Howard Hanson
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: APE (image+cue)
Label: Mercury
Size: 701 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Disc: 1
01. Merry Mount Suite: 1. Overture
02. Merry Mount Suite: 2. Children’s Dance
03. Merry Mount Suite: 3. Love Duet
04. Merry Mount Suite: 4. Prelude To Act II And Maypole Dances
05. Mosaics
06. For The First Time: 1. Bells
07. For The First Time: 2. Tamara And Peter Bolshoi
08. For The First Time: 3. Deserted House
09. For The First Time: 4. Eccentric Clock
10. For The First Time: 5. Deep Forest
11. For The First Time: 6. Clowns
12. For The First Time: 7. Dance
13. For The First Time: 8. Serious Conversations
14. For The First Time: 9. Kikimora
15. For The First Time: 10. Mist
16. For The First Time: 11. Fireworks
17. For The First Time: 12. Dreams
18. Concerto For Piano And Orchestra, Op. 36: 1. Lento molto And molto tranquillo
19. Concerto For Piano And Orchestra, Op. 36: 2. Allegro molto ritmico
20. Concerto For Piano And Orchestra, Op. 36: 3. Andante molto espressivo
21. Concerto For Piano And Orchestra, Op. 36: 4. Allegro giocoso

Disc: 2
01. Merry Mount Suite
02. Merry Mount Suite
03. Merry Mount Suite
04. Merry Mount Suite
05. Merry Mount Suite
06. Merry Mount Suite
07. Mosaics
08. Mosaics
09. Mosaics
10. Mosaics
11. Mosaics
12. Mosaics
13. For The First Time
14. For The First Time
15. For The First Time
16. For The First Time
17. For The First Time
18. For The First Time
19. For The First Time
20. For The First Time
21. For The First Time
22. For The First Time
23. For The First Time
24. For The First Time
25. For The First Time


MERCURY sound. At it’s best, at it’s fullest.

A super recording. Orchestral music like you’ve never heard before . . . in your home. Right, the better the stereo equipment the more you are likely to hear tons of details out of the microscopic hills and valleys of this glorious cd. However, a more modest hi-fi system will make it as well, at least to reveal the essential of the music. It all comes from the legendary “Golden Age” LP era. The album, issued by Mercury/Philips (a package of two discs), has GLORIOUS sound–as much as good as the vinyl LP. To be underlined, a very nice job at remastering those LEGENDARY archives, thanks to Wilma Cozart and the Mercury team. For orchestral music that one is a good reference cd (the sound is almost lifelike). Howard Hanson’s music is delightful ; he’s got a solid reputation as a composer and is a skillful conductor. One of my best picks in American music. The ‘Merry Mount’ is a wonderful work.

Leave a Reply