Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Gwendolyn Masin – Legends (24/96 FLAC)

Gwendolyn Masin – Legends (24/96 FLAC)

Gwendolyn Masin - Legends (2496 FLAC)
Gwendolyn Masin – Legends (2496 FLAC)


Composer: George Enescu, Henryk Wieniawski, Jozef Wieniawski, Eugene Ysaÿe
Performer: Kirill Troussov, Alexandra Troussova, Rachel Harnisch, Jan Philip Schulze, Gwendolyn Masin, Jiska Lambrecht, Markus Fleck, Martin Moriarty, Patrick Moriarty, Vera Kooper
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Orchid
Catalogue: ORC100210
Release: 2022
Size: 945 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Wieniawski H: Légende in G minor, Op. 17
02. Wieniawski J: Valse-Caprice, Op. 46

Enescu: Sept chansons de Clément Marot, Op. 15
03. No. 1, Estreines à Anne
04. No. 2, Languir me faits
05. No. 3, Aux damoyselles paresseuses d’escrire à leurs amys
06. No. 4, Estrene de la rose
07. No. 5, Présent de couleur blanche
08. No. 6, Changeons propos, c’est trop chanté d’amours
09. No. 7, Du conflict en douleur

10. Ysaÿe: String Quintet in B Minor

Wieniawska: Caledonian Market (Excerpts)
11. No. 3, Bloomsbury Waltz
12. No. 6, Musical Box
13. No. 8, Picture of Clowns

14. Wieniawska: Tango

Following the success of her Orchid albums “Flame” and “West Side Story”, violinist Gwendolyn Masin returns with “Legends”, a fascinating and unique programme in which family ties and teaching lineages overlap in a mosaic of musicians, showcasing neglected repertoire and figures in the process. Throughout, the implications of the word “legend” are felt.

Iconic figures and works rub shoulders with those who unjustly remain in an almost mythical realm: Irene Wienawska (aka Poldowksi), her father Henryk Wieniawski and uncle Józef Wieniawski, Henryk’s student Ysaÿe, and Ysaÿe’s student Enescu. This recording of Ysaÿe’s single-movement String Quintet in B minor is especially remarkable as it is relatively new on the recording scene; it received its Swiss premiere in May 2022 as part of Masin’s GAIA Music Festival, and this particular version has never been recorded before.

Leave a Reply