Genesis Baroque: Corelli - Concerti Grossi op.6 (24/96 FLAC)
Genesis Baroque: Corelli – Concerti Grossi op.6 (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Arcangelo Corelli
Performer: Genesis Baroque, Sophie Gent, Lucinda Moon, Natasha Kraemer
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Australian Broadcasting
Size: 2.51 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Concerto grosso in D Major, Op. 6 No. 1
01. 1. Largo – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro – Adagio
02. 2. Largo – Allegro
03. 3. Largo
04. 4. Allegro – Adagio
05. 5. Allegro

Concerto Grosso in F Major, Op. 6 No. 2
06. 1. Vivace – Allegro – Adagio – Vivace – Allegro – Adagio – Largo andante
07. 2. Allegro – Adagio
08. 3. Grave – Andante Largo
09. 4. Allegro

Concerto Grosso in C Minor, Op. 6 No. 3
10. 1. Largo
11. 2. Allegro – Adagio
12. 3. Grave
13. 4. Vivace
14. 5. Allegro

Concerto grosso in D Major, Op. 6 No. 4
15. 1. Adagio – Allegro
16. 2. Adagio
17. 3. Vivace
18. 4. Allegro – Allegro

Concerto grosso in B-Flat Major, Op. 6 No. 5
19. 1. Adagio – Allegro – Adagio
20. 2. Adagio
21. 3. Allegro – Adagio
22. 4. Largo
23. 5. Allegro

Concerto Grosso in F Major, Op. 6 No. 6
24. 1. Adagio
25. 2. Allegro
26. 3. Largo
27. 4. Vivace
28. 5. Allegro

Concerto Grosso in D Major, Op. 6 No. 7
29. 1. Vivace – Allegro – Adagio
30. 2. Allegro
31. 3. Andante Largo
32. 4. Allegro
33. 5. Vivace

Also available:  Jascha Horenstein conducts Bruckner - Symphony no.8, Liszt, Wagner - Faust (2 CD, APE)

Concerto Grosso in G Minor, Op. 6, No. 8, MC 6.8 “Fatto per la Notte di Natale”
34. 1. Vivace – Grave
35. 2. Allegro
36. 3. Adagio – Allegro – Adagio
37. 4. Vivace
38. 5a. Allegro
39. 5b. Pastorale: Largo

Concerto Grosso in F Major, Op. 6 No. 9
40. 1. Preludio: Largo
41. 2. Allemande: Allegro
42. 3. Corrente: Vivace
43. 4. Gavotta: Allegro
44. 5. Adagio
45. 6. Minuetto: Vivace

Concerto Grosso in C Major, Op. 6 No. 10
46. 1. Preludio: Andante largo
47. 2. Allemanda: Allegro
48. 3. Adagio
49. 4. Corrente: Vivace
50. 5. Allegro
51. 6. Minuetto: Vivace

Concerto Grosso in B-Flat Major, Op. 6 No. 11
52. 1. Preludio: Andante Largo
53. 2. Allemanda: Allegro
54. 3. Adagio
55. 4. Andante Largo
56. 5. Sarabanda: Largo
57. 6. Giga: Vivace

Concerto Grosso in F Major, Op. 6 No. 12
58. 1. Preludio: Adagio
59. 2. Allegro
60. 3. Adagio
61. 4. Sarabanda: Vivace
62. 5. Giga: Allegro

Arcangelo Corelliis one of the great composers of the Baroque era, a trailblazer who forever changed the relationship between soloist and orchestra, and did much to establish the violin as the star of the orchestra. He is considered the ‘father’ of the concerto grosso – apiece for several soloists accompanied by an orchestra – and his seminal Opus 6 volume became the benchmark for his contemporaries, including Handel, Vivaldi and Geminiani.

Here, one of Melbourne’s premier early music ensembles, Genesis Baroque,brings these extraordinary works to life with great energy and enthusiasm. Adding to the uniqueness of the occasion, not only is this the ensemble’s first studio recording, but it is also the first complete recording of these works by an Australian orchestra.

In this recording, the ensemble is led by consummate expatriate violinist Sophie Gent, who returned to Australia for the first time in many years to perform with Lucinda Moonas co-directors and soloists. Both musicians are notable for their nuanced, elegant approach and creative flair, and will enchant listeners through the sublime colours and conversations of Corelli’s masterworks.

Genesis Baroque was founded in 2017 by Baroque violinist and artistic director, Jennifer Kirsner, and are led by renowned Baroque violinist, Lucinda Moon. Based in Melbourne, the ensemble is comprised of some of Australia’s finest historically informed musicians and presents an exploration of the spontaneity, excitement and contemporary richness of music from the 17th and 18th centuries. The ensemble is fast developing a reputation as one of the country’s finest, with a particular capacity for emotive, vibrant performances that connect closely with their audiences.

Sophie Gentwas born in Perth, Western Australia. After completing a Bachelor’s degree she pursued further studies at the Royal Conservatorium in The Hague with Ryo Terakado, completing her Master’s degree with distinction in 2005. In 2002 she was awarded first prize in two chamber music competitions: the International Van Wassenaer Competition (The Netherlands) and the International Premio Bonporti Concours (Italy), with the ensemble Opera Quarta. Their first recording, of trio sonatas by Jean-Marie Leclair, was awarded a Diapason d’Or in July 2007. Sophie is active as a soloist and chamber musician, performing and recording frequently as concertmaster with the Ricercar Consort, Il Gardellino, Capriccio Stravagante, Les Muffatti, Ensemble Masques and also as a member of the period instrument string quartet Mito dell’Arco, based in Japan. She was appointed Professor of Baroque violin at the Amsterdam Conservatorium in 2011 and regularly coaches chamber music at the Early Music Department Conservatorium in Antwerp.

With over 25 years performance and recording experience, Lucinda Moonis a highly respected and sought-after Baroque violinist. After graduating from the Victorian College of the Arts, Lucinda travelled to The Netherlands to study Baroque violin with Sigiswald Kuijken at the Royal Conservatorium in The Hague. On her return to Australia she was appointed as concertmaster of the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra; a position she held from 1995 until 2008, and with whom she recorded extensively as concertmaster and soloist. Lucinda now performs and records in Australia with the Elysium Ensemble, Accademia Arcadia, Latitude 37 and Van Diemen’s Band. Lucinda joined Genesis Baroque as Musical Director and concertmaster at the group’s inception in 2017.

Sumptuous and refined…Genesis Baroque is a unique and polished — and importantly, welcome — voice in the vibrant Melbourne Baroque music scene.” (CutCommon)

Leave a Reply