Galligioni: Vivaldi - Cello Sonatas (24/88 FLAC)
Galligioni: Vivaldi – Cello Sonatas (24/88 FLAC)

Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
Performer: Francesco Galligioni, L’Arte dell’Arco
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Brilliant Classics
Size: 1.33 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, RV 47:
01. I. Largo
02. II. Allegro
03. III. Largo
04. IV. Allegro

Cello Sonata in F Major, RV 41:
05. I. Largo
06. II. Allegro
07. III. Largo
08. IV. Allegro

Cello Sonata in A Minor, RV 43:
09. I. Largo
10. II. Allegro
11. III. Largo
12. IV. Allegro

Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, RV 45:
13. I. Largo
14. II. Allegro
15. III. Largo
16. IV. Allegro

Cello Sonata in E Minor, RV 40:
17. I. Largo
18. II. Allegro
19. III. Largo
20. IV. Allegro

Cello Sonata in B-Flat Major, RV 46:
21. I. Preludio. Largo
22. II. Allemande. Allegro
23. III. Largo
24. IV. Corrente. Allegro

A recording of the complete Cello Sonatas by Vivaldi on period instruments! Antonio Vivaldi was one of the first composers to feature the cello, then a relatively “new” instrument (after the viola da gamba), as a mature solo instrument. This recording contains the 6 sonatas for cello and basso continuo..

Vivaldi displays an astonishing variety and inventiveness in these works, using the instrument’s possibilities to the utmost; these sonatas still offer a serious challenge, both technical and musical, for any professional cellist nowadays. Apart from that they are vintage Vivaldi, featuring an enormous range of emotional extremes, from deep heartfelt sadness to infectious joy.

Excellent performances on period instruments by one of the leading cellists in this field, Francesco Galligioni, solo cellist of the Venice Baroque Orchestra led by Andrea Marcon, he recorded for Archiv/DG and other prestigious labels. Federico Guglielmo, the Early Music veteran, inspires his L’Arte dell’Arco to brilliant and passionate playing. The continuo exists of violin, violone, lute, harpsichord and chamber organ.

Liner notes written by a musicologist, in both Italian and English.

Leave a Reply