Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Franziska Heinzen, Benjamin Mead – Women Composers (24/96 FLAC)

Franziska Heinzen, Benjamin Mead – Women Composers (24/96 FLAC)

Franziska Heinzen, Benjamin Mead - Women Composers (24/96 FLAC)
Franziska Heinzen, Benjamin Mead – Women Composers (24/96 FLAC)


Composer: Amy Marcy Cheney Beach, Ingebord Bronsart, Henriette Hilda Bosmans, Charlotte Bray, Cécile Chaminade, Caroline Charrière, Rebecca Clarke, Madeleine Dring, Juliana Hall, Marie Jaëll, Manuela Kerer, Josephine Lang, Elizabeth Maconchy, Alma Mahler, Fanny Caecilie Mendelssohn Hensel, Isabel Mundry, Irène Poldivski, Henriette Puig-Roget, Marguerite Roesgen-Champion, Katharina Rosenberger, Ruth Schonthal, Clara Schumann, Germaine Tailleferre, Rosy Wertheim
Performer: Franziska Heinzen, Benjamin Mead
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Solo Musica
Catalogue: SM378
Release: 2021
Size: 913 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Clarke: June Twilight
02. Poldivski: L’heure exquise

Mahler: 5 Songs for Voice & Piano:
03. No. 3, Laue Sommernacht

Beach: Browning Songs, Op. 44
04. No. 1, Ah, Love, but a Day (Version for Voice & Piano)

05. Schumann: Am Strande

Bosmans: 10 Mélodies
06. No. 2, Le regard éternel

07. Mundry: Hilf mir! Wer?
08. Jaëll: Le bonheur s’effeuille et passe
09. Wertheim: Die Insel der Vergessenheit

Rosenberger: E.E. Cummings Miniatures
10. No. 2, Dying Is Fine, but Death (Version for Voice & Piano)

Mendelssohn: Lieder, Op. 1
11. No. 3, Warum sind denn die Rosen so blaß

Hall: 6 Songs
12. No. 4, Sleep, Mourner, Sleep!

Puig-Roget: 4 Ballade françaises
13. No. 4, Le diable dans la nuit

Bray: Yellow Leaves
14. No. 8, Farewell

Kerer: Alma Phantasien
15. No. 4, Nur der seinen leben

16. Maconchy: Ophelia’s Song

17. Bronsart: Die Loreley
18. Roesgen-Champion: Le sommeil de Leilah
19. Dring: Song of a Nightclub Proprietress (No. 5 from 5 Betjeman Songs)

Schonthal: Totengesänge
20. No. 2, Die ewige Liebe

Charrière: 6 Proses lyriques
21. No. 2, Écouter et ne rien entendre

Lang: 6 Deutsche Lieder, Op. 27
22. No. 23, Ob ich manchmal Dein gedenke

23. Chaminade: Ma première lettre

Tailleferre: 2 Poèmes de Lord Byron
24. No. 2, Remembrance

The duo’s second album on Solo Musica celebrates the song repertoire of women composers from Romanticism to Contemporary Music with 24 songs by 24 women composers. The Swiss soprano Franziska HEINZEN and British-Polish-German pianist Benjamin MEAD set out to research the work of women composers for Clara SCHUMANN’s bicentenary in 2019 – and discovered a valuable treasure of relatively unknown music. Beginning with a life journey through refreshing spring feelings, the album goes on to describe painful hours of loneliness and uncertainty as well as anxious premonitions of death and dark fears. Five examples of self-confident female characters, whose experiences are concluded with wiser, reflections on life, as seen retrospectively.

Features music by Rebecca Clarke, Irène Poldowski, Alma Mahler, Amy Beach, Clara Schumann, Henriëtte Bosmans, Isabel Mundry, Marie Jaëll, Rosy Wertheim, Katharina Rosenberger, Fanny Hensel-Mendelssohn, Juliana Hall, Henriette Puig-Roget, Charlotte Bray, Manuela Kerer, Elizabeth Maconchy, Ingeborg Bronsart, Marguerite Roesgen-Champion, Madeleine Dring, Ruth Schonthal, Caroline Charrière, Josephine Lang, Cécile Chaminade and Germaine Tailleferre

Leave a Reply