Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » MD&G Gold » Ensemble Villa Musica: Hindemith – Complete Sonatas Vol.01-07 (FLAC)

Ensemble Villa Musica: Hindemith – Complete Sonatas Vol.01-07 (FLAC)

Ensemble Villa Musica: Hindemith - Complete Sonatas Vol.01-07 (FLAC)
Ensemble Villa Musica: Hindemith - Complete Sonatas Vol.01-07 (FLAC)

Composer: Paul Hindemith
Orchestra: Ensemble Villa Musica
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 7
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: MD&G Records
Size: 1.56 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

CD 01
Sonata for Violin and Piano op. 11 No. 1
01. Erster Teil
02. Zweiter Teil

Sonata for Violin and Piano op. 11 No. 2
03. Erster Teil. Lebhaft
04. Zweiter Teil. Ruhig und gemessen
05. Dritter Teil. Im Zeitmass

Sonata for Violoncello and Piano op. 11 No. 3
06. Massig schnelle Viertel.
07. Langsam / Sehr lebhaft

Sonata for Violoncello and Piano op. 11 No. 4
08. Fantasie. Ruhig
09. Thema mit Variationen
10. Finale (mit Variationen)

CD 02
Kleine Sonate for Viola d’amore and Piano
01. Massig schnell. Lustig
02. Sehr langsam
03. Sehr leghaft

Sonata for Viola and Piano, op.25
04. Sehr lebhaft. Markiert und kraftvoll
05. Sehr lansame Viertel
06. Finale. Lebhafte Viertel

Sonata in E for Violin and Piano
07. Ruhig bewegt
08. 1.Langsam 2.Sehr lebhaft
09. Lebhaft
10. Langsam – Lebhaft – Langsam
11. Ruhig bewegt

Sonata for Viola and Piano
12. Breit. Mit Kraft
13. Sehr lebhaft
14. Phantasie. Sehr langsam, frei
15. Finale (with 2 variations) 1.Leicht bewegt 2.Ein

CD 03
Sonata for piano № 1
01. Ruhig bewegte Viertel
02. Im Zeitmass eines sehr langsamen Marsches
03. Lebhaft
04. Ruhig bewegte Viertel wie im ersten Teil
05. Lebhaft
06. Energisch

Sonata for piano № 2
07. Massig schnell
08. Lebhaft
09. Sehr langsam

Sonata for piano № 3
10. Ruhig bewegt
11. Sehr lebhaft
12. Massig schnell
13. Fuge. Lebhaft

Variations for Piano

CD 04
Sonata for two Pianos
01. Glockenspiel
02. Allegro
03. Kanon
04. Recitativ
05. Fuge

Sonata for Bassoon and Piano
06. Leicht bewegt
07. Langsam

Sonata for Harp
08. Massig schnell
09. Lebhaft
10. Lied. Sehr langsam

Sonata for Piano for 4 Hands
11. Massig bewegt
12. Lebhaft
13. Ruhig bewegt

Sonata for Horn
14. Massig bewegt
15. Ruhig bewegt
16. Lebhaft

CD 05
Sonata for Flaute and Piano
01. Heiter und bewegt
02. Sehr langsam
03. 1.Sehr lebhaft 2.Marsch

Sonata for Oboe and Piano
04. Munter
05. Sehr langsam

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
06. Masisig bewegt
07. Leghaft
08. Sehr langsam
09. Kleines Rondo, gemachlich

Sonata for English Horn and Piano
10. Langsam. Allegro pesante
11. Moderato. Scherzo
12. Allegro pesante

CD 06
Sonata for Trumpet and Piano
01. Mit Kraft – Wie vorhr
02. Massig bewegt – Lebhaft
03. Trauermusik

Sonata for Organ No1
04. Massig schnell – Lebhaft
05. Sehr langsam – Phantasie, frei

Sonata for Organ No2
06. Lebhaft
07. Ruhig bewegt
08. Fuge. Massig bewegt, heiter

Sonata for Organ No3
09. Massig bewegt
10. Sehr langsam
11. Ruhig bewegt

Sonata for Horn and Piano
12. Ruhig bewegt
13. Lebhaft
14. Sehr langsam
15. Lebhaft

CD 07
Sonata for Violoncello and Piano
01. Pastorale
02. Moderately fast
03. Pasacaglia

Small Sonata for Violoncello and Piano
04. Breit
05. Lebhaft
06. Langsam

07. A Frog he went a-courting Variation

Sonata for Double-Bass and Piano
08. Allegretto
09. Scherzo. Allegro assai
10. Molto Adagio

Sonata for Tuba and Piano
11. Allegro pessante
12. Allegro assai
13. Variations

Sonata for Trombone and Piano
14. Allegro moderato maestoso
15. Allegretto grazioso
16. Allegro pessante
17. Allegro moderato maestoso

Ensemble Villa Musica:
Ida Bleider, violin
Kalle Randalau, piano
Thomas Brandis, violin
Enrique Santiago, viola
Martin Ostertag, cello
Klaus Thunermann, bassoon
Radova Vatkovic, horn
Helga Stork, harp
Ivo Bauer, viola d’amore
Jean-Claude Gerard, flute
Ingo Goritzki, oboe & horn
Ulf Rodenhausser, clarinet
Hannes Laubin, trumpet
Rosalinde Haas, organ
Piret Randalu, piano
Branimir Slokar, trombone
Walter Hilgers, tuba
Wolfgang Guttler, double bass

The auspicious start to an important series

MDG’s series of the complete Hindemith sonatas is one of the most important recording projects the last 20 years, and is as such curiously overlooked. And for anyone interested in sampling this composers vast output of solo sonatas, this is a near-ideal release; the works are all rather early Hindemith, but also Hindemith at his warmest and most immediately appealing. Stylistically, the works are surprisingly varied (at least for belonging to the same opus number), from the spicily dissonant, neo-classical cello sonata to the generally sunny, untroubled viola sonata containing genuinely memorable, almost romantic, melodies.

It is possible, I guess, to find competitive, maybe even superior, alternative performances, but no one will be disappointed with these accounts – indeed, the performances are all on a very high level, and the recording is excellent. Definitely recommended.

5 thoughts on “Ensemble Villa Musica: Hindemith – Complete Sonatas Vol.01-07 (FLAC)”

  1. Hi, Whatever. Thanks for this post; in Spain is very very difficult to find Hindemith chambre music nowadays, I don’t know the reason. And Villa Musica seems to be born to play Hindemith. What a fine players!
    Thank you again.

Leave a Reply