Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Egarr – One Byrde in Hande (24/96 FLAC)

Egarr – One Byrde in Hande (24/96 FLAC)

Egarr - One Byrde in Hande (24/96 FLAC)
Egarr – One Byrde in Hande (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Richard Egarr
Audio CD
Number of Discs: 1
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Linn
Size: 1.27 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

01. Prelude, MB12
02. Fantasia, MB13
03. Prelude, MB1
04. Ground, MB9
05. Ground, MB43
06. Pavan and Galliard, MB16: I. Pavan
07. Pavan and Galliard, MB16: II. Galliard
08. Ut, re, mi, fa, sol, la, MB64
09. Ut, mi, re, MB65
10. Fantasia, MB62
11. Lachrymae Pavan, MB54
12. Prelude, MB24
13. Fantasia, MB25
14. The Bells, MB38

Richard Egarr’s impressive career, both as a solo keyboardist and conductor (notably with the Academy of Ancient Music), has cemented his reputation as one of the UK’s most compelling musicians.

In his debut solo recording for Linn, Egarr charts the extraordinary breadth of invention at play in works by William Byrd. One of English music’s most influential figures, Byrd’s innovative style is evident throughout this well-chosen program of preludes, grounds and fantasies. The Fantasia in A minor, MB13, demonstrates the unlimited scope of Byrd’s imagination; intricate rhythms, surprising modulations and changing textures precede a finale requiring a previously unequalled level of dexterous virtuosity.

Egarr similarly relishes the technical demands of Byrd’s descriptive masterpiece, The bells. This incredible composition begins with a single toll before developing into an elaborate and thrillingly complex showpiece of pealing bells. Egarr’s elegant phrasing, infectious enthusiasm and rich embellishments result in insightful performances.


Leave a Reply