Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Series » Chaconne » Duo Amadè: Mozart – Duo Sonatas vol.1 (FLAC)

Duo Amadè: Mozart – Duo Sonatas vol.1 (FLAC)

Duo Amadè: Mozart - Duo Sonatas vol.1 (FLAC)
Duo Amadè: Mozart – Duo Sonatas vol.1 (FLAC)

Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Performer: Duo Amadè, Catherine Mackintosh, Geoffrey Govier
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Chandos
Catalogue: CHAN0755
Release: 2008
Size: 275 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Violin Sonata No. 18 in G major, K301
01. I. Allegro con spirito
02. II. Allegro

Violin Sonata No. 20 in C major, K303
03. I. Adagio – Molto allegro
04. II. Tempo di menuetto

Six Variations in G minor on ‘Hélas, j’ai perdu mon amant’, K360
05. Thema: Allegretto
06. Variation 1
07. Variation 2
08. Variation 3
09. Variation 4
10. Variation 5
11. Variation 6

Violin Sonata No. 19 in E flat major, K302
12. I. Allegro
13. II. Rondo: Andante grazioso

Variations in G major on ‘La Bergère Célimène, K374a (K359)
14. Thema: Allegretto
15. Variation 1
16. Variation 2
17. Variation 3
18. Variation 4
19. Variation 5
20. Variation 6
21. Variation 7
22. Variation 8
23. Variation 9
24. Variation 10
25. Variation 11
26. Variation 12

Mozart’s charming and intimate late violin sonatas KV 301, 302 and 303, composed in Mannheim in 1778 are performed here on period instruments by Duo Amadè (Catherine Mackintosh and Geoffrey Govier) and coupled with two sets of variations based on French popular tunes.

Mackintosh and Govier have a love for this repertoire which stretches back to the late 1980s when they first met at the Royal College of Music, London. They formed Duo Amadè in order to perform the charming and intimate works of Mozart for this combination in concert often carried out with readings from his family letters. In 2006 Duo Amadè performed the whole cycle at the Royal College of Music.

Violinist Catherine Mackintosh is best known as the former leader of Orchestra of Age of Enlightenment and part of the Purcell Quartet. She is joined by fortepianist Geoffrey Govier. Geoffrey plays a fortepiano after Anton Walter made by Christopher Clare in Cluny while Catherine plays a violin dating from 1703 by Giovanni Grancino. These instruments bring a lightness and freshness of articulation to these delightful works, entirely in keeping with the spirit of enlightenment in which the sonatas were written. It is their aim is to record the complete cycle of mature sonatas.

Leave a Reply