Daniil Trifonov - Silver Age. Scriabin, Stravinsky, Prokofiev (24/96 FLAC)
Daniil Trifonov – Silver Age. Scriabin, Stravinsky, Prokofiev (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Igor Stravinsky, Sergei Prokofiev, Alexander Scriabin
Performer: Daniil Trifonov
Orchestra: Mariinsky Orchestra
Conductor: Valéry Gergiev
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Release: 2020
Size: 2.48 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Igor Stravinsky:
Serenade in A for piano
01. I. Hymn
02. II. Romance
03. III. Rondoletto
04. IV. Final Cadence

Sergei Prokofiev:
Sarcasms for Piano, Op. 17
05. I. Tempestoso
06. II. Allegro rubato
07. III. Allegro precipitato
08. IV. Smanioso
09. V. Precipitosissimo

Piano Sonata No. 8 in B flat major, Op. 84
10. I. Andante dolce
11. II. Andante sognando
12. III. Vivace

Cinderella – Three Pieces for Piano, Op. 95
13. II. Gavotte

Igor Stravinsky:
L’oiseau de Feu. Suite pour piano
14. I. Danse infernale du Roi Kastchei (Transc. by Guido Agosti)
15. II. Berceuse (Transc. by Guido Agosti)
16. III. Finale (Transc. by Guido Agosti)

Sergei Prokofiev:
Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 16
17. I. Andantino
18. II. Scherzo. Vivace
19. III. Intermezzo. Allegro moderato
20. IV. Finale. Allegro tempestoso

Igor Stravinsky:
Trois mouvements de Petrouchka pour piano
21. I. Danse russe
22. II. Chez Petrouchka
23. III. La semaine grasse

Alexander Scriabin:
Piano Concerto in F sharp minor, Op. 20
24. I. Allegro
25. IIa. Andante
26. IIb. Variation 1
27. IIc. Variation 2
28. IId. Variation 3
29. IIe. Variation 4 – Tempo 1. Andante
30. III. Allegro moderato

The Russian pianist is by turns balletic, poetic and dramatic in solo works by Stravinsky and Prokofiev, whilst the Mariinsky Orchestra match his precision and imagination in concertos by the the latter composer and Scriabin.

Daniil Trifonov pays homage to music created during a pivotal period in Russian history

Daniil Trifonov’s new album, Silver Age , recorded with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra, recalls a time when Russia’s composers, poets, artists, dramatists and star performers were among the most original anywhere in the world. It illustrates the artistic audacity and brilliance of a turbulent era in the country’s history with works by three of its most pioneering composers: Scriabin’s Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in F sharp minor Op.20, Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor Op.16 and Stravinsky’s Three Movements from Petrushka . The tracklist also comprises Stravinsky’s Serenade and excerpts from the composer’s piano suite version of The Firebird , together with Prokofiev’s Sarcasmes Op.17, Piano Sonata No.8 in B flat major Op.84 and the “Gavotte” from Cinderella Op.95 No.2

Daniil Trifonov’s choice of music mirrors the inventive variety of this brief but explosive cultural moment. “ Scriabin ,” he notes, “wished to combine all aesthetic experience in a single, mystical, musical vision; Stravinsky unified the arts through a radical re interpretation of ballet; Prokofiev , meanwhile, embraced cinema as the most complete and modern synthesis of the senses.”

Having paved the way for future artistic achievements, the spirit of Russia’s Silver Age is justly celebrated in these new recordings.

Leave a Reply