Skip to content
Home » Organ Works » Chiara Minali: Spergher- Organ and Harpsichord Music (24/96 FLAC)

Chiara Minali: Spergher- Organ and Harpsichord Music (24/96 FLAC)

Chiara Minali: Spergher- Organ and Harpsichord Music (24/96 FLAC)
Chiara Minali: Spergher- Organ and Harpsichord Music (24/96 FLAC)

Composer: Ignazio Spergher
Performer: Chiara Minali
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Brilliant Classics
Release: 2019
Size: 4.07 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Organ Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 1
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Andante sostenuto
03. III. Allegro

Organ Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 1, No. 2
04. I. Allegro
05. II. Andante espressivo
06. III. Allegro brillante

Organ Sonata in A Major, Op. 1, No. 3
07. I. Allegro
08. II. Rondo andante
09. III. Allegro spiritoso

Organ Sonata in D Major, Op. 1, No. 4
10. I. Allegro
11. II. Andantino
12. III. Allegro spiritoso

Organ Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 1, No. 5
13. I. Allegro con brio
14. II. Andante grazioso
15. III. Allegro con brio

Organ Sonata in C Major, Op. 1, No. 6
16. I. Allegro
17. II. Rondo andante
18. III. Allegro

Hapsichord Sonata in B-Flat Major, Op. 6, No. 1
19. I. Rondo – Allegretto
20. II. Andantino
21. III. Allegro svelto

Hapsichord Sonata in A Major, Op. 6, No. 2
22. I. Allegro svelto
23. II. Rondo – Andantino grazioso
24. III. Presto

Hapsichord Sonata in C Major, Op. 6, No. 3
25. I. Andante
26. II. Amoroso
27. III. Allegro con spirito

Hapsichord Sonata in F Major, Op. 6, No. 4
28. I. Allegro aperto
29. II. Rondo – Andante con brio
30. III. Allegro vivace

Hapsichord Sonata in G Major, Op. 6, No. 5
31. I. Allegro
32. II. Andantino grazioso
33. III. Allegro

Harpsichord Sonata in D Major, Op. 6, No. 6
34. I. Allegro vivace
35. II. Andante con moto

36. Allegro in C Major

Harpsichord Sonata in B-Flat Major
37. I. Andantino con brio
38. II. Adagio
39. III. Allegro

Sinfonia in C Major
40. I. Allegro
41. II. Andantino
42. III. Allegro con brio

43. Organ Sonata No. 1 in C Major: Rondò andantino mosso
44. Organ Sonata No. 2 in C Major: Andantino con brio
45. Organ Sonata No. 3 in B-Flat Major: Cantabile
46. Organ Sonata No. 4 in B-Flat Major: Rondò grazioso
47. Organ Sonata No. 5 in C Major: Allegro
48. Organ Sonata No. 6 in B-flat Minor: Allegretto moderato
49. Organ Sonata No. 7 in F Major: Allegro ma non tanto
50. Organ Sonata No. 8 in D Major: Senza indicazione
51. Organ Sonata No. 9 in B-Flat Major: Andante grazioso

Organ Sonata (from the Fondo S. Maria Formosa)
52. No. 1 in B-Flat Major: Allegro
53. No. 2 in F Major: Allegretto
54. No. 3 in D Major: Spiritoso
55. No. 4 in G Major: Allegro
56. No. 5 in A Major: Rondò brillante
57. No. 6 in C Major: Allegro vivace

Organ Sonata (from the Fondo Sartori)
58. No. 1 in E-Flat Major: Andante espressivo
59. No. 2 in C Major: Senza indicazione
60. No. 3 in C Major: Andantino sostenuto

61. Pastorale in A major

First recordings of sonatas for organ and harpsichord by a forgotten Italian composer on the cusp of the Baroque and Classical eras.

Ignazio – or Ignaz, in some sources – Spergher was born in 1734 in the northern Italian town of Treviso. There, by and large, though even before his death in 1804 his music had crossed national boundaries to delight audiences across Europe. As chapel master and then organist at the city’s cathedral in the late 1700s he produced an output of vocal and instrumental music, most of which was destroyed when the cathedral’s library was burnt down during air raids in 1944.

There remain, however, the six Op.1 Sonatas published in Venice in 1786 with which Chiara Minali begins her survey of Spergher’s surviving music, the most comprehensive yet. These are three-movement pieces written in the Venetian organ tradition of the 18th century. The manuscript of his Op.6 sonatas for harpsichord avoided the Chapter House holocaust by having been sent to Vienna in 1845, and then Minali completes the set with assorted sonatas from different sources, all of them attesting to Spergher’s lively invention.

Chiara Minali’s previous work for Brilliant Classics includes the complete organ sonatas of Benedetto Marcello: a 3CD set (BC95277) that was warmly welcomed in the Italian press for Minali’s lively sense of style, beautifully sprung rhythmic
playing and lively choice of registration on a historically appropriate instrument.
On this recording she plays an organ made by Antonio Zanchi in the 18th century for the parish church of Paderno di Ponzano in the Veneto region which was Spergher’s home. The harpsichord sonatas were recorded on a modern copy of a 17th-century model in the Oratory of St Elizabeth in Verona.

Ignazio Spergher (1734-1808) spent his entire life in his native town Treviso, where he was a highly respected singer, keyboard player, teacher and composer, a pupil of the great theorist Giordano Riccati.
This 3CD set presents Spergher’s keyboard music, for both organ and harpsichord. The 6 organ sonatas Op. 1 are delightful works in classical/galante style, written in 3 movements fast-slow-fast. The fast movements contain contrasting episodes of “Tutti” and “Concertino”, whereas the slow movements abound in sweet cantilene melodies entrusted to the “vox humana” register.
The works for harpsichord are charming pieces used as “Hausmusik”, in the pleasing Venetian style of Galuppi and Luchesi.
Played on the Bazzani-Aletti-Zanin organ of the Parish Church of Paderno (Treviso) built in 1903 by the Aletti brothers, embodying much of the earlier 1845 Bazzani organ. The harpsichord used is a copy of a Giusti instrument of 1681, made by Roberto Mattiazzio. The specifications of the instruments are included in the booklet.
Chiara Minali previously recorded organ works by Benedetto Marcello for Brilliant Classics.

Leave a Reply