Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Hi-Res Downloads » 24bit/96kHz » Cheng² Duo – Russian Legends (24/96 FLAC)

Cheng² Duo – Russian Legends (24/96 FLAC)

Cheng² Duo - Russian Legends (24/96 FLAC)

Cheng² Duo – Russian Legends (24/96 FLAC)

Performer: Cheng² Duo, Bryan Cheng, Silvie Cheng
Number of Discs: 2
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Audite
Release: 2019
Size: 2.42 GB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

01. Prokofiev: Adagio for cello & piano (from Cinderella), Op. 97bis

Prokofiev: Cello Sonata in C major, Op. 119
02. I. Andante grave
03. II. Moderato
04. III. Allegro ma non troppo

05. Glazunov: Chant du ménéstrel, Op. 71 (version for cello and piano)

Shostakovich: Cello Sonata in D minor, Op. 40
06. I. Allegro non troppo
07. II. Allegro
08. III. Largo
09. IV. Allegro

10. Tchaikovsky: Pezzo capriccioso in B Minor, Op. 62 (version for cello and piano)

Arensky: 2 Pieces, Op. 12
11. No. 1. Petite ballade
12. No. 2. Danse-capricieuse

13. Scriabin: Romans (Romance) (arr. for cello and piano)
14. Rachmaninov: Lied (Romance) in F minor

Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19
15. I. Lento – Allegro moderato
16. II. Allegro scherzando
17. III. Andante
18. IV. Allegro mosso

19. Rachmaninov: Songs, Op. 34 – No. 14. Vocalise (arr. for cello and piano)
20. Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 11 / TH 111 / IPT 118: II. Andante Cantabile (Arr. for Cello and Piano by Cheng² Duo)

After forays to Spain and France, the Cheng2 Duo ventures to Russia for their third audite album.

The “Süddeutsche Zeitung” described Bryan and Silvie Cheng’s last CD, dedicated to Spanish music, as an “event of austere and severe, but also dreamy beauty”, and praised the siblings’ interpretation for “finding the correct idiom which manages to raise the temperature”. Their new double album centres on the three great sonatas for cello and piano by Dmitri Shostakovich, Sergei Rachmaninov and Sergei Prokofiev. The Cheng2 Duo contrasts these with a series of shorter pieces by Anton Arensky, Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and Alexander Glazunov. This comprehensive programme represents a short history of Russian cello music which began with the foundation of the great music conservatoires in Saint Petersburg and Moscow in the middle of the nineteenth century.

Cellist Bryan Cheng is hailed internationally for his “absolutely astonishing” (La Presse, Montréal) command of the cello, and “abundant facility, innate musicality, and sense of joy” (New York Concert Review). He made his solo debut at age 10 with the Orchestre de chambre I Musici de Montréal, his Carnegie Hall recital debut at 14, and most recently, his Elbphilharmonie solo debut with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and conductor Joshua Weilerstein in 2018.

Lauded for her “extraordinarily varied palette” (WholeNote Magazine) and “purely magical” playing (New York Concert Review), pianist Silvie Cheng illuminates musical works with her exquisite touch at the keyboard. Since her Carnegie Hall solo debut in 2011, she has performed as both soloist and collaborative pianist across the globe. As guest soloist with orchestra, Silvie most recently made her debut with the New Amsterdam Symphony Orchestra in 2018 and will debut with Symphony Nova Scotia in the 2019-20 season.

Leave a Reply