Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Charles Medlam – Fleur de Lys (FLAC)

Charles Medlam – Fleur de Lys (FLAC)

Charles Medlam - Fleur de Lys (FLAC)
Charles Medlam – Fleur de Lys (FLAC)

Composer: Jacques Lambert du Buisson, Giuseppe Demachi, Nicolas Hotman, Marin Marais, Monsieur de Sainte Colombe the elder
Performer: Charles Medlam
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Cello Classics
Catalogue: CC1028
Release: 2010
Size: 335 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: cover

Hotman: Suite in D minor
01. I. Allemande I
02. II. Allemande II
03. III. Courante et double (1)
04. IV. Sarabande (1)
05. V. Bourrée
06. VI. Ballet (1)
07. V. Gigue (1)
08. VI. Ballet (Variations on the Scolding Wife)
09. I. Prélude
10. II. Allemande et double
11. III. Courante
12. IV. Sarabande (2)
13. V. Gigue (2)
14. VI. Ballet et double

Machy: Suite No. 4 in G major
15. I. Prélude
16. II. Allemande
17. III. Courante
18. IV. Sarabande
19. V. Gigue
20. VI. Gavotte en rondeau
21. VII. Chaconne

Sainte-Colombe: Suite in D Minor
22. I. Prelude
23. II. Allemande
24. III. Courante et double (2)
25. IV. Sarabande et double
26. V. Gavotte
27. VI. Ballet (2)
28. VII. Gigue et bourrasque
29. VIII. Chaconne

30. Marais: Tombeau pour Monsieur de Sainte-Colombe

In the years before JS Bach embarked upon his Suites for unaccompanied cello, the form was being honed to perfection by composers of the many suites for solo bass viol written in France between 1650 and 1700.

Renowned viol player, and founder director of London Baroque, Charles Medlam performs a number of works by Nicolas Hotman, Dubuisson, DeMachy and the mysterious Sieur de Sainte-Colombe, charting the evolution of the classical suite. A fascinating exploration of beautiful and rarely-heard repertoire.

Leave a Reply