Skip to content
Home » Classical Downloads » Capricornus Consort Basel – Leipzig 1723 (FLAC)

Capricornus Consort Basel – Leipzig 1723 (FLAC)

Capricornus Consort Basel - Leipzig 1723 (FLAC)
Capricornus Consort Basel – Leipzig 1723 (FLAC)

Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Friedrich Fasch, Johann Christoph Graupner, Georg Philipp Telemann
Performer: Stefan Temmingh, Sebastian Wienand, Wiebke Weidanz, Péter Barczi, Sonoko Asabuki, Capricornus Consort Basel
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Label: Accent
Catalogue: ACC24375
Release: 2021
Size: 407 MB
Recovery: +3%
Scan: yes

Graupner: Recorder Concerto in F Major, GWV 323
01. I. Allegro
02. II. Andante
03. III. Allegro

Fasch: Sonata for 2 Violins, Viola & Continuo in D Minor, FaWV N:d3
04. I. Largo
05. II. Allegro
06. III. Largo
07. IV. Allegro

Bach: Concerto for Harpsichord & Two Recorders, BWV1057
08. I.
09. II. Andante
10. III. Allegro assai

Telemann: Quartet TWV 43:G4 in G major for flute, violin, viola da gamba or cello & b.c.
11. I. Allegro
12. II. Adagio
13. III. Allegro

Fasch: Recorder Concerto in F Major, FaWV L:F6
14. I. Allegro
15. II. Largo
16. III. Allegro

Telemann: Concerto TWV 51:C1 in C major for recorder, strings & b.c.
17. I. Allegretto
18. II. Allegro
19. III. Andante
20. IV. Tempo di minue

The Thomaskantor position in Leipzig was one of the most important jobs for musicians in Germany in the 18th century; several important musicians applied to succeed Johann Kuhnau after his death in 1722. In the recruitment process, the Leipzig city council was able to choose from the most famous personalities of the time. The first choice was Georg Philipp Telemann, who declined however, after he had obtained a decent salary increase at his Hamburg post.

The next two candidates were Johann Friedrich Fasch and Christoph Graupner – Fasch, knowing about Telemann’s application, had accepted another position and Graupner would have become Thomaskantor, but his employer in Darmstadt would not let him go.

Only the third choice, as is generally known, fell on Johann Sebastian Bach …

In his programme “Leipzig 1723”, Stefan Temmingh recalls this major moment in music history and presents recorder concertos by all four competitors. Excellently accompanied by the Capricornus Consort Basel, he thus creates a panopticon of recorder concertos by the greatest German masters of the time.

Leave a Reply